Stewart, Webb claim 250 AMA titles

Ryan Dungey

Ryan Dungey

Malcolm Stewart and Cooper Webb have secured the 250 East Coast 250 West titles at the final round of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship at Las Vegas.

In a unique 250 race that saw the West Coast race against the East in a combinedmain event, Joey Savatgy claimed the all important holeshot in the mud ridden circuit and held the position right to the chequered flag.

Second place went to Zach Osborne, followed by Malcolm Stewart in third, who was the first of the East Coast riders.

Stewart’s third place gave him the East title, as title threat Aaron Plessinger finished one place behind in fourth.

Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki fill in rider, Gannon Audette, finished off a tremendous season with a fifth place, followed by Colt Nichols in sixth and Tyler Bowers in seventh.

Geico Honda’s Christian Craig finished in eighth place, followed by Luke Renzland and Martin Davalos rounding out the top 10.

Cooper Webb finished in 11th place, which handed him the West Coast championship by 1 point over race winner, Joey Savatgy.

In the 450 class, Ryan Dungey claimed the win in emphatic fashion, overcoming a mid race collision with Ken Roczen.

Dungey and Roczen were engaged in another mega duel to end out season 2016, before Roczen fell and inadvertently collected Dungey.

Dungey would remount to get the win, whilst Roczen finished in 20th.

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Jason Anderson finished in second, with Eli Tomac finishing in third.

Australia’s Chad Reed posted a strong result in fourth place, trailed by Blake Baggett in fifth, Broc Tickle in sixth and Justin Brayton in seventh.

HRC Honda’s Trey Canard finished in eighth, followed by his teammate Cole Seely in ninth and Justin Barcia in tenth.

Riders now embark on a 12 round, 24 moto Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship, which commences on the May 21 in Sacramento, California.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]