Le Brocq holds out Golding in photo finish

Jack Le Brocq

Jack Le Brocq

Jack Le Brocq held out James Golding in a frantic drag race to victory in the second Dunlop Series heat at Barbagallo Raceway.

The Prodrive Ford driver made a sluggish start from pole position and dropped to as low as fifth on the opening lap before the Safety Car intervened.

Le Brocq was back up to second by the time the yellows flew however due to a multi-car incident at Turn 6.

Andrew Jones and Garry Jacobson both found the sand after the former was nudged in the back by Anton De Pasquale.

While Jones was able to rejoin, series leader Jacobson was stranded, triggering the Safety Car.

Le Brocq capitalised on a mistake from Paul Dumbrell to secure the lead once racing resumed.

The early yellow made the race a time certain finish after 25 of the scheduled 28 laps.

Golding tried a move at the final corner but Le Brocq just held on to take the win by 0.03s, as Dumbrell claimed third for Eggleston Motorsport.

Kurt Kostecki produced a highly impressive drive as he charged through from 12th to finish fourth.

Todd Hazelwood ran as high as third but settled for fifth ahead of teenager Alex Rullo, who starred in the Lucas Dumbrell Commodore.

Shae Davies, Josh Kean, Taz Douglas and Macauley Jones completed the top 10.

De Pasquale came home in 18th after he received a drive-through penalty for causing the opening lap Safety Car.

Jacobson eventually finished the race in 24th position, allowing Golding to cut his series lead to 47 points.

The Dunlop Series will be back in action for Race 3 which is scheduled to start at 1240 local time.

Result: Dunlop Series Race 2, Perth

1 GoGetta Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG/X 25 27:23.1924
2 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM James Golding Holden Commodore VF 25 27:23.2286
3 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 25 27:28.4968
4 Kostecki Brothers Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 25 27:31.8506
5 iseek Communication / MSR Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore VF 25 27:32.1018
6 Castrol Racing/LD Motorsport Alex Rullo Holden Commodore VF 25 27:33.4086
7 Davbridge Constructions /MWM Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG 25 27:35.0925
8 Wynn’s Racing Josh Kean Holden Commodore VF 25 27:36.2485
9 Eggleston Motorsport Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 25 27:38.2825
10 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 25 27:39.5571
11 Middy’s Data & Electrical /MWM Bryce Fullwood Ford Falcon FG 25 27:42.4043
12 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Richard Muscat Holden Commodore VF 25 27:43.0049
13 Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG 25 27:49.7868
14 Eggleston Motorsport Liam McAdam Holden Commodore VE2 25 27:51.1131
15 Kostecki Brothers Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 25 27:51.5388
16 Auto One / MSR Adam Marjoram Ford Falcon FG 25 27:52.4891
17 Alliance Truck Parts Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF 25 27:52.9705
18 Paul Morris Motrosports Anton de Pasquale Ford Falcon FG 25 27:57.1675
19 Team Caltex Renee Gracie Ford Falcon FG 25 28:07.9544
20 Dragon Motor Racing Chelsea Angelo Holden Commodore VE2 25 28:15.8632
21 Kilar Towing Equipment / STR Mathew Palmer Ford Falcon FG 24 27:30.9869
22 Lubrixmax Garry Hill Ford Falcon FG 24 27:32.0955
23 S&J Automotive Dan Day Ford Falcon FG 24 27:39.2048
24 Challenger Valve Racing Garry Jacobson Ford Falcon FG/X 22 27:54.9176

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]