Emery hospitalised in Australian GT crash

Geoff Emery

Geoff Emery

Geoff Emery has been hospitalised following a nasty crash which forced a lengthy suspension to the second race of the Australian GT Championship at Barbagallo Raceway.

The Australian GT regular suffered a hard hit with the wall at the exit of the final corner on the opening lap of the 60 minute encounter.

The Jamec Pem Audi encountered slight contact with Roger Lago’s Lamborghini and then lost control over the kerb before slamming head on into the wall.

After 19 minutes behind the Safety Car, officials elected to suspend the race to allow medical teams to extricate Emery through the R8 GT3s’ roof.

The experienced Victorian racer was conscious and complained of back pain in the aftermath of the crash.

Following his extraction he was then taken to Royal Perth Hospital to assess his condition.

Racing resumed with 20 minutes remaining after repairs were made to the barriers.

Organisers chose to add the compulsory pit stop time to overall race times as co-drivers climbed aboard the cars for the remainder of the race.

Klark Quinn, who inherited the lead before the Safety Car was deployed, controlled the restart and looked on course to take the flag before a late charge from Craig Baird in the Scott Taylor Motorsport Mercedes AMG GT3.

Baird managed to grab the lead in the final laps to take the victory on the road from Quinn (McLaren) and John Martin in the Walkinshaw Racing Porsche.

However, once the compulsory times were added Quinn was demoted to fourth with Nathan Antunes taking second from Martin.

Jonathon Webb brought his McLaren 650S home in fifth ahead of Nathan Morcom (McLaren), Glen Wood (Lamborghini), Barton Mawer (Audi), Peter Rullo (Lamborghini) and James Koundouris (Audi).

*Championship officials have since confirmed that Emery is in ‘good spirits’ and has been visited by co-driver Marco Bonanomi in hospital.

Result: Australian GT Championship Race 2

1 Scott Taylor Motorsport S.Taylor/C.Baird Mercedes Benz AMG GT 33 01:03:12.0557
2 Beechwood / SLR / Buildmap N.Antunes/E.Barbour McLaren 650S GT3 33 01:03:19.8055
3 Walkinshaw GT3 J.Martin/A.Tebb Porsche 911 GT3-R 33 01:03:23.4764
4 Darrell Lea Klark Quinn (QLD) McLaren 650S GT3 33 01:03:23.6377
5 McLaren Melbourne J.Webb/M.Kingsley McLaren 650S GT3 33 01:03:27.4728
6 DPO Nathan Morcom McLaren 650S GT3 33 01:03:28.1564
7 Interlloy M Motorsport J.McMillan/G.Wood Lamborghini R-EX 33 01:03:29.8135
8 GT Motorsport G.Taylor/B.Mawer Audi R8 LMS 33 01:03:36.4440
9 Performance West Peter Rullo (WA) Lamborghini Gallardo 33 01:03:38.2041
10 Supabarn Supermarkets J.Koundouris/M.Marshall Audi R8 LMS 33 01:03:39.1995
11 Objective Racing Tony Walls (QLD) McLaren 650S GT3 33 01:03:42.5315
12 JBS Australia Roger Lago (QLD) Lamborghini R-EX 33 01:03:43.3463
13 Exotic Track Days R.Harris/S.Hookey Mercedes AMG GT3 SLS 33 01:03:45.0020
14 Darrell Lea Tony Quinn (QLD) Aston Martin Vantage 33 01:03:47.1005
15 Modena Engineering Ricky Capo (VIC) BMW Z4 GT3 33 01:03:51.5311
16 Taplin Real Estate A.Taplin/D.Canto Lamborghini Gallardo 33 01:03:54.0070
17 JAMEC PEM Racing Stephen McLaughlan (VIC) Audi R8 LMS 33 01:04:01.9382
18 SR Motorsport S.Richards/M.Twigg BMW M6 GT3 33 01:04:25.9004
19 Bondi Wholefoods Ash Samadi (VIC) Mercedes Benz AMG SL 32 01:03:42.2006
DNF JAMEC PEM Racing Geoff Emery (TAS) Audi R8 LMS

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]