Campbell/Emery score Porsche Pro-Am pole

Saturday 30th April, 2016 - 1:24pm


Campbell and Emery will start from pole

Campbell and Emery will start from pole

Matt Campbell and Geoff Emery combined to score pole position for the first of two Pro-Am Carrera Cup races at Porsche’s Rennsport Festival.

The McElrea drivers topped their respective Pro and Am sessions, from which the combined times were used to determine the Race 1 grid.

Emery recorded a 1:30.98s best to head the Am session, emerging 0.03s clear of Shane Smollen.

Campbell’s Pro session topping 1:29.35s came on his first flying lap of the second 20 minute hit-out, proving the best time of the weekend to date.

Light rain fell throughout the final five minutes of the Pro running but failed to stop several of the stars from late improvements.

Among them was Nick Percat, whose fifth fastest time ensured he and Smollen will line-up on the outside of the front-row.

The combinations of Adrian Flack/David Wall, Dylan Thomas/Nick McBride, Adrian Mastranado/Tim Slade and David Calvert-Jones/Alex Davison complete the top six.

Shane van Gisbergen was the second quickest of the Pro runners, leaving the Scott Taylor Motorsport entry 14th on combined times after co-driver Paul Kelly proved slowest of the Ams.

The #222 Porsche will, however, start from the back of the grid after disqualification for proving 0.5mm shy of the minimum front ride height in post-qualifying scrutineering.

Confirming that the late rain had no impact on his efforts, Van Gisbegen admits he’s struggling to come to terms with the Carrera Cup car.

“To be honest I’m struggling with driving these things, they’re so different and at the moment I just can’t drive it,” he told

“It’s so different to anything I’ve ever driven. You wouldn’t want to spend too long in one of these because it teaches you such bad habits.

“It doesn’t like turning and the things you have to do to make it turn aren’t normal. After the weekend I’ll be forgetting about it as quick as possible to get back into V8 mode.”

Van Gisbergen had been a full 0.4s adrift of Campbell, while third fastest Pro Slade was a further 0.3s adrift.

Steven Richards ended the Pro session in 19th, ensuring he and Dean Grant will start down in 18th.

The former champion explained that he’d elected not to use new rubber in his session in order to gain an advantage for the race.

“We knew from where we were after Dean’s session that we had to do something different,” Richards told

“We think the difference between a new tyre and a used tyre will be quite a bit over a stint, so that’s the strategy we’ve played for the race.”

VIDEO: Campbell and Emery speak after qualifying

Carrera Cup Race 1 grid sheet


QUALIFYING #1 – Tag Heuer Carrera Challenge drivers

Pos No. Driver Team Time Gap
1 7 Geoff Emery Nuveau Constructions / Phase 8 1:30.9823
2 56 Shane Smollen McGrath Estate Agents 1:31.0164 0:00.0341
3 38 Adrian Flack Wilson Security/PAYCE 1:31.5434 0:00.5611
4 45 Roger Lago Darrell Lea STIX 1:31.5653 0:00.5830
5 77 Dylan Thomas Bob Jane T-Marts 1:31.7009 0:00.7186
6 88 Sam Walter Allstar Equipment / Dexion Supplies 1:31.8519 0:00.8696
7 13 James Bergmuller 1:31.8772 0:00.8949
8 25 David Calvert-Jones Wilson Parking 1:31.9778 0:00.9955
9 24 Tony Bates Moveitnet / A.F.S 1:32.0042 0:01.0219
10 39 Adrian Mastronardo TOGA/Veritas Property Group 1:32.0486 0:01.0663
11 360 David Ryan 360fly 1:32.0996 0:01.1173
12 8 Jake Camilleri Saint/Porsche Centre Melbourne 1:32.1678 0:01.1855
13 26 John Goodacre Stone’s Original 1:32.5357 0:01.5534
14 4 Stephen Grove Grove Hire 1:32.7709 0:01.7886
15 21 Ash Samadi Commercial Interior Projects 1:32.8251 0:01.8428
16 12 Dean Grant Laser Plumbing and Electrical 1:32.9363 0:01.9540
17 54 Tony Walls Horsley Park Gun Shop 1:33.2733 0:02.2910
18 777 Max Twigg Bob Jane T-Marts / Infants Friend 1:33.5451 0:02.5628
19 9 Marc Cini Hallmarc 1:33.5619 0:02.5796
20 222 Paul Kelly Scott Taylor Motorsport 1:33.7081 0:02.7258

QUALIFYING #1 – Professional drivers

Pos No. Driver Team Time Gap
1 7 Matt Campbell Nuveau Constructions / Phase 8 1:29.3520
2 39 Tim Slade TOGA/Veritas Property Group 1:30.0492 0:00.6972
3 25 Alex Davison Wilson Parking 1:30.1853 0:00.8333
4 56 Nick Percat McGrath Estate Agents 1:30.2270 0:00.8750
5 77 Nick McBride Bob Jane T-Marts 1:30.2759 0:00.9239
6 777 Ash Walsh Bob Jane T-Marts / Infants Friend 1:30.2917 0:00.9397
7 4 Lee Holdsworth Grove Hire 1:30.3002 0:00.9482
8 38 David Wall Wilson Security/PAYCE 1:30.3542 0:01.0022
9 88 Dylan O’Keeffe Allstar Equipment / Dexion Supplies 1:30.3936 0:01.0416
10 24 David Reynolds Moveitnet / A.F.S. 1:30.4083 0:01.0563
11 13 Garth Tander 1:30.6620 0:01.3100
12 8 Dean Fiore Saint/Porsche Centre Melbourne 1:30.9920 0:01.6400
13 360 Fraser Ross 360fly 1:31.1162 0:01.7642
14 21 Garth Walden Commercial Interior Projects 1:31.1834 0:01.8314
15 26 Michael Almond Stone’s Original 1:31.2368 0:01.8848
16 45 Duvashen Padayachee Darrell Lea STIX 1:31.2393 0:01.8873
17 9 Michael Caruso Hallmarc 1:31.2633 0:01.9113
18 12 Steven Richards Laser Plumbing and Electrical 1:31.2894 0:01.9374
19 54 James Abela Horsley Park Gun Shop 1:31.9600 0:02.6080
Exc 222 Shane Van Gisbergen Scott Taylor Motorsport 1:29.3520 0:00.6972 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!