Brock voted all-time best in ATCC driver poll

Peter Brock

Peter Brock readers have voted the late Peter Brock as the greatest driver in the history of the Australian Touring Car/V8 Supercars Championship.

A Pirtek Poll asking fans to select the greatest driver from a shortlist of 12 multiple champions attracted more than 7,000 votes across the course of the last week.

The poll coincided with the 500th ATCC/V8SC event taking place at Phillip Island at the weekend.

Almost 10 years on from his death, Brock remains Australian touring car racing’s biggest icon.

Although none of his nine Bathurst wins were ATCC events, Brock won the championship three times (1974, 1978, 1980) during his lengthy career.

He finished runner-up five times (1973, 1979, 1981, 1981 and 1990) and third six times (1977, 1983, 1985, 1989, 1994 and 1995) before pulling the pin on full-time driving at the end of 1997.

Brock scored 19.1 percent of the vote in’s poll to edge out current Triple Eight V8 Supercars stars Craig Lowndes (17.4 percent) and Jamie Whincup (16.9 percent).

Dick Johnson ended up a close fourth on 16.2 percent, while Jim Richards, Mark Skaife and Allan Moffat were the only others to record more than five percent of the overall votes.

Pirtek Poll result


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]