McLaughlin doubles up at Phillip Island

Scott McLaughlin

Scott McLaughlin

Not even a late Safety Car could stop Scott McLaughlin from scoring back-to-back victories for Volvo at the WD-40 Phillip Island Super Sprint.

A day after snapping a 44 race winless streak, McLaughlin was able to control the 200km Phillip Island finale from pole position.

The 22-year-old held a comfortable two second lead over fellow front-row starter Jamie Whincup when the Safety Car was called with just over 10 laps to go.

Yellows flew to clean up debris from Cameron Waters’ Falcon, which spectacularly suffered the fourth right-front tyre failure of the weekend while on the front straight.

While the Safety Car allowed Whincup to close onto the tail of the leader, it was the six-time champion who faltered on the restart lap, running wide at Turn 12.

Mark Winterbottom swooped on both Whincup and Scott Pye to move into second, subsequently taking the flag a second behind the victorious McLaughlin.

Pye held off Triple Eight duo Whincup and Craig Lowndes for third on a trying day for DJR Team Penske.

Team-mate Fabian Coulthard crawled away from his fourth place grid slot with an engine problem that took the #12 Pirtek Ford out of the contest.

Filling fifth through 10th at the flag were Michael Caruso, James Courtney, Chaz Mostert, Will Davison and Shane van Gisbergen.

Van Gisbergen ran as high as fourth early but struggled for balance in the middle stint and was down in 12th when the Safety Car was called.

The Kiwi was one of three to elect for a third stop under the yellow, subsequently charging from 20th to 10th in the closing laps.

Team-mate Whincup had by contrast been the only man in McLaughlin’s league for the majority of the 45 lap race.

A determined Whincup attempted to hang on around the outside of McLaughlin at Turn 1 on the opening lap, sliding wildly through the grass on the exit before rejoining still in second place.

There was more action later on the opening lap when Mostert was turned around by Garth Tander at the Turn 4 hairpin.

Mostert blazed back through from last to an eventual eighth, but will likely be the subject of a post-race investigation after a late touch on James Moffat.

Moffat finished 15th after the contact from Mostert and subsequent off at Lukey Heights, providing a disappointing end to a highly encouraging weekend for the former Nissan driver.

The Race 7 result sees McLaughlin move to second in the championship, just 15 points behind leader Whincup.

Result: V8 Supercars WD-40 Phillip Island Super Sprint Race 7

1 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 45 01:17:33.4257
2 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 45 01:17:34.4312
3 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 45 01:17:36.3128
4 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 45 01:17:36.7233
5 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 45 01:17:37.2306
6 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 45 01:17:39.8244
7 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 45 01:17:40.4429
8 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 45 01:17:41.3281
9 Team Darrell Lea STIX Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 45 01:17:43.1056
10 Red Bull Racing Australia Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 45 01:17:44.1715
11 Sengled Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 45 01:17:46.5225
12 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 45 01:17:46.8032
13 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 45 01:17:47.2832
14 Erebus Motorsport Penrite David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 45 01:17:48.8336
15 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Volvo S60 45 01:17:49.8741
16 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 45 01:17:50.6176
17 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 45 01:17:50.7298
18 Team GB Galvanizing Dale Wood Nissan Altima 45 01:17:51.1454
19 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 45 01:17:52.1984
20 ABRO/Repair Management Aust Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 45 01:17:54.8677
21 ABRO/Repair Management Aust Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore VF 45 01:17:55.7513
22 Plus Fitness Racing Aaren Russell Holden Commodore VF 45 01:17:58.5283
23 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 44 01:17:57.7091
24 Super Black Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG/X 36 01:17:58.7821
DNF Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 35    58:06.7387
DNF DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X  3    26:08.6885

Championship Standings 

1 Jamie Whincup 651
2 Scott McLaughlin 636
3 Mark Winterbottom 627
4 Craig Lowndes 615
5 Will Davison 558
6 Shane Van Gisbergen 545
7 Michael Caruso 504
8 Garth Tander 502
9 James Courtney 486
10 Todd Kelly 439
11 Rick Kelly 426
12 Scott Pye 418
13 Jason Bright 417
14 David Reynolds 406
15 Fabian Coulthard 397
16 Chaz Mostert 392
17 Tim Slade 384
18 Cameron Waters 367
19 Nick Percat 363
20 James Moffat 354
21 Lee Holdsworth 351
22 Tim Blanchard 257
23 Dale Wood 227
24 Andre Heimgartner 194
25 Aaren Russell 168
26 Chris Pither 160

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]