Jacobson extends series lead with Race 3 win

Garry Jacobson

Garry Jacobson

Garry Jacobson has taken another race win on his way to overall honours in Round 2 of the Dunlop Series at Phillip Island.

The Prodrive Racing driver notched up a second win for the round and third for the season after claiming Race 1 the day prior and finishing second in Race 2.

James Golding made the better of the start to lead the field away, while Jacobson held Andrew Jones out to retain second.

Jack Le Brocq’s forgettable weekend continued when he ended up facing the wrong way at the Turn 4 hairpin on Lap 1.

The incident, which involved Bryce Fullwood, is now the subject of a post-race investigation.

Jacobson blazed past Golding as they rounded the bend to complete the opening lap and put 2.6s on the Race 2 winner over the course of the next three laps.

Meanwhile, Paul Dumbrell relegated Andrew Jones to third on Lap 3 and then passed Golding on Lap 5, but could not make any inroads on Jacobson’s 3.5s advantage.

The Eggleston Motorsport driver instead became the third victim of a front-right tyre failure across the two V8 Supercars series, but avoided contact when he slid through the gravel at the hairpin on Lap 11.

That incident brought out the Safety Car, with Golding now second having impressively re-passed Andrew Jones at Siberia on Lap 8 after car #8 got by two corners earlier.

Jacobson, however, was unperturbed as he set the fastest lap upon the restart to notch up a comfortable victory, with Golding’s second placing consolidating second in the round and series.

Andrew Jones staved off Josh Kean at the restart to complete the race and round podium, his team-mate staying fourth for the run home as Taz Douglas climbed to fifth from a 10th place start.

Todd Hazelwood made nine positions to sixth after a tough Race 2, while Shae Davies, Kurt Kostecki, Macauley Jones, and Anton de Pasquale completed the top ten.

Le Brocq salvaged 13th after dropping to the rear of the field in his Lap 1 incident.

The Dunlop Series is again on the support bill at Barbagallo from May 6 to 8.

Result: Dunlop Series Race 3, Phillip Island

1 Challenger Valve Racing Garry Jacobson Ford Falcon FG/X  16 26:59.1874
2 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM James Golding Holden Commodore VF  16 27:01.1867
3 Alliance Truck Parts Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF  16 27:04.0042
4 Wynn’s Racing Josh Kean Holden Commodore VF  16 27:04.4208
5 Eggleston Motorsport Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2  16 27:05.4265
6 iseek Communication / MSR Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore VF  16 27:06.8095
7 DavBridge Constructions /MWM Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG  16 27:06.9237
8 Kostecki Brothers Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF  16 27:07.1185
9 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF  16 27:07.2472
10 Paul Morris Motrosports Anton de Pasquale Ford Falcon FG  16 27:07.6002
11 S&J Automotive Dan Day Ford Falcon FG  16 27:09.8532
12 Middy’s Data & Electrical /MWM Bryce Fullwood Ford Falcon FG  16 27:10.6723
13 GoGetta Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG/X  16 27:10.8767
14 Dragon Motor Racing Chelsea Angelo Holden Commodore VE2  16 27:14.3391
15 Eggleston Motorsport Liam McAdam Holden Commodore VE2  16 27:14.8501
16 Auto One / MSR Adam Marjoram Ford Falcon FG  16 27:15.6659
17 Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG  16 27:16.1939
18 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Richard Muscat Holden Commodore VF  16 27:16.2698
19 Team Caltex Renee Gracie Ford Falcon FG  16 27:16.7807
20 Performance West/LD Motorsport Alex Rullo Holden Commodore VF  16 27:17.3706
21 Kilar Towing Equipment / STR Mathew Palmer Ford Falcon FG  16 27:19.8268
22 Action Towing Marcus Zukanovic Ford Falcon FG  16 27:19.9992
23 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2  15 27:28.9859
24 Kostecki Brothers Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF  14 27:02.1603
25 Image Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG  14 27:20.4498

Championship Standings

1 Garry Jacobson 571
2 James Golding 488
3 Andrew Jones 432
4 Jack Le Brocq 425
5 Taz Douglas 356
6 Todd Hazelwood 347
7 Paul Dumbrell 334
8 Shae Davies 315
9 Liam McAdam 298
10 Macauley Jones 295
11 Anton de Pasquale 272
12 Adam Marjoram 243
13 Kurt Kostecki 237
14 Richard Muscat 233
15 Matthew Chahda 224
16 Chelsea Angelo 209
17 Mathew Palmer 193
18 Dan Day 193
19 Steve Owen 192
20 Josh Kean 183
21 Jesse Dixon 168
22 Renee Gracie 155
23 Jake Kostecki 135
24 Bryce Fullwood 133
25 Alex Rullo 125
26 Adam Wallis 111
27 Dean Fiore 110
28 Marcus Zukanovic  82


Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]