Golding scores breakthrough Dunlop Series win

James Golding

James Golding

James Golding produced a faultless drive to claim a maiden Dunlop Series race win at Phillip Island.

The Garry Rogers Motorsport protégé completed a lights-to-flag run to victory, while Race 1 winner Garry Jacobson ran a distant second for the duration of the 16 lap affair.

Andrew Jones claimed third in the Brad Jones Racing Commodore.

Golding made a good getaway while Jacobson dropped in behind Paul Dumbrell as Todd Hazelwood fell from fourth to eighth with a poor launch.

The Payce-backed driver had gapped the field by 2.6s by the end of the first lap as Dumbrell ran extremely defensive towards Jacobson.

The Prodrive Racing Australia driver made his move into the second lap courtesy of a slipstream off car #88, leaving Andrew Jones to zero in on Dumbrell.

That battle between the two former series winners made for a frantic Lap 3 as Dumbrell and Jones ran line astern to the Hayshed, before being divebombed at MG.

Jack Le Brocq attempted to buy in but instead tangled with Richard Muscat as the pair rounded the Turn 12 sweeper and while Le Brocq somehow managed to not spin, Muscat ran off and nudged the wall.

As that unfolded, Hazelwood’s race went from bad to worse when he was turned around by Bryce Fullwood in an incident which will be investigated post-race.

Dumbrell ran wide at Doohan Corner on Lap 6, hastening Le Brocq’s seemingly inevitable pass for fourth, and with Golding managing a gap peaking at 4.8sec, the front-runners ran unchanged for the balance of the race.

Josh Kean finished sixth, Fullwood was provisionally classified seventh, and Kurt Kostecki gradually progressed from 13th to eighth, with Shae Davies and Taz Douglas completing the top 10.

Hazelwood eventually managed 15th and Muscat was 25th and last, one lap off the pace.

Golding, who scored the first win for a VF Commodore, moves into second in the series behind Jacobson ahead of a further 16 lap race to complete the round at 1255 AEST.

Result: Dunlop Series Race 2, Phillip Island

1 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM James Golding Holden Commodore VF 16 25:13.0611
2 Challenger Valve Racing Garry Jacobson Ford Falcon FG/X 16 25:16.6577
3 Alliance Truck Parts Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF 16 25:20.3926
4 GoGetta Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG/X 16 25:21.4723
5 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 16 25:27.9203
6 Wynn’s Racing Josh Kean Holden Commodore VF 16 25:34.0408
7 Middy’s Data & Electrical /MWM Bryce Fullwood Ford Falcon FG 16 25:35.2638
8 Kostecki Brothers Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 16 25:37.9892
9 DavBridge Constructions /MWM Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG 16 25:38.2985
10 Eggleston Motorsport Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 16 25:38.9157
11 Image Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 16 25:43.1557
12 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 16 25:43.3693
13 Eggleston Motorsport Liam McAdam Holden Commodore VE2 16 25:43.6601
14 Paul Morris Motrosports Anton de Pasquale Ford Falcon FG 16 25:43.9563
15 iseek Communication / MSR Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore VF 16 25:47.9457
16 Performance West/LD Motorsport Alex Rullo Holden Commodore VF 16 25:54.6647
17 Action Towing Marcus Zukanovic Ford Falcon FG 16 25:56.4244
18 Auto One / MSR Adam Marjoram Ford Falcon FG 16 25:57.0436
19 Kostecki Brothers Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 16 25:57.3190
20 Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG 16 25:59.9251
21 Team Caltex Renee Gracie Ford Falcon FG 16 26:07.8402
22 Kilar Towing Equipment / STR Mathew Palmer Ford Falcon FG 16 26:17.3699
23 Dragon Motor Racing Chelsea Angelo Holden Commodore VE2 16 26:18.3531
24 S&J Automotive Dan Day Ford Falcon FG 15 25:52.2341
25 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Richard Muscat Holden Commodore VF 15 26:37.7221


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]