Winterbottom fastest in rain hit final practice

Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom ended up with the fastest time in Practice 3 at Phillip Island after a late rain shower robbed the field of a new tyre run ahead of qualifying.

The 15 minute hit-out was run under dark skies, which eventually delivered a light shower just as the field were starting their qualifying simulation runs.

That left Winterbottom’s earlier 1:31.32s used tyre time unbeaten until the chequered flag.

“We went out on used tyres initially and although the track was in better condition I felt we’d made good inroads with the car,” said Winterbottom.

“I was excited for that happy hour with new tyres on but we just didn’t get the run before the rain.

“I think our car is close, but we’ll just look outside and pray that it’s dry in qualifying.”

The Triple Eight Holdens of Shane van Gisbergen, Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes filled second through fourth on the timesheets.

Whincup went quickest to the second sector in the closing stages but could not maintain the pace as the track condition worsened.

“It was good through the first half of the lap so we got a good read on the car, but it was just too wet around the back to finish the lap,” said Whincup.

“I think we’re there or thereabouts.”

Rick Kelly, Scott McLaughlin, James Moffat, Michael Caruso, Fabian Coulthard and Scott Pye completed the top 10.

Further showers are predicted for Phillip Island throughout the afternoon, where the V8 Supercars will complete a 15 minute qualifying session and 120km race.

Result: V8 Supercars WD-40 Phillip Island Super Sprint Practice 3 

1 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:31.3178*H
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:31.5457 H 00.2279
3 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:31.6902 H 00.3724
4 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:31.6934 H 00.3756
5 Sengled Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:31.7398 H 00.4220
6 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:31.7930 H 00.4752
7 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Volvo S60 1:31.8012 H 00.4834
8 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:31.8623 H 00.5445
9 DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 1:31.9960 H 00.6782
10 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 1:32.0047 H 00.6869
11 Team GB Galvanizing Dale Wood Nissan Altima 1:32.0177 H 00.6999
12 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:32.0440 H 00.7262
13 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:32.0670 H 00.7492
14 Super Black Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG/X 1:32.1186 H 00.8008
15 Team Darrell Lea STIX Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 1:32.2885 H 00.9707
16 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:32.2932 H 00.9754
17 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:32.3550 H 01.0372
18 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:32.3952 H 01.0774
19 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:32.3970 H 01.0792
20 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:32.4503 H 01.1325
21 ABRO/Repair Management Australia Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:32.5634 H 01.2456
22 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:32.6842 H 01.3664
23 Erebus Motorsport Penrite David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 1:33.0192 H 01.7014
24 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:33.0911 H 01.7733
25 ABRO/Repair Management Australia Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore VF 1:33.1354 H 01.8176
26 Plus Fitness Racing Aaren Russell Holden Commodore VF 1:34.0443 H 02.7265

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]