Prodrive locks out Dunlop Series front row

Jack Le Brocq, pictured during Friday's sunny practice

Jack Le Brocq, pictured during Friday’s sunny practice

Jack Le Brocq edged Prodrive team-mate Garry Jacobson to pole position for Round 2 of the Dunlop Series at a slippery Phillip Island.

Sprinkles of light rain hit the high speed seaside circuit throughout the 20 minutes, adding to the challenge for the second-tier drivers.

Jacobson put down the first serious marker with five minutes to go, moving a full second clear of previous fast man James Golding at the top of the order with a 1:31.46s.

Le Brocq responded three minutes later, lowering the benchmark by a further 0.05s aboard his GoGetta backed Falcon.

Jacobson and third placed man Todd Hazelwood both failed in their efforts to improve in the dying stages, ensuring pole for Le Brocq.

Golding drifted back through the top 10 across the closing five minutes before jumping back to fourth with his final lap.

Paul Dumbrell was the fastest of the non-Car of the Future runners in fifth ahead of Golding’s Garry Rogers Motorsport team-mate Richard Muscat.

Brad Jones Racing pair Andrew and Macauley Jones will share the fourth row, while MW Motorsport duo Shae Davies and Bryce Fullwood are set to line-up on row five.

BJR’s Adelaide front-row man Josh Kean could manage no better than 12th, almost 1.4s adrift of Le Brocq.

The first of three Dunlop Series races for the weekend will get underway at 1515 local time.

Result: Dunlop Series Qualifying, Phillip Island 

1 GoGetta Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG/X 1:31.4065R
2 Challenger Valve Racing Garry Jacobson Ford Falcon FG/X 1:31.4585r 00.0520
3 iseek Communication / MSR Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore VF 1:31.5591r 00.1526
4 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM James Golding Holden Commodore VF 1:31.7853r 00.3788
5 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 1:31.9167r 00.5102
6 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Richard Muscat Holden Commodore VF 1:32.0694r 00.6629
7 Alliance Truck Parts Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF 1:32.2343 00.8278
8 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 1:32.3546 00.9481
9 DavBridge Constructions /MWM Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG 1:32.3757 00.9692
10 Middy’s Data & Electrical /MWM Bryce Fullwood Ford Falcon FG 1:32.6218 01.2153
11 Paul Morris Motrosports Anton de Pasquale Ford Falcon FG 1:32.7301 01.3236
12 Wynn’s Racing Josh Kean Holden Commodore VF 1:32.7795 01.3730
13 Eggleston Motorsport Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 1:32.7991 01.3926
14 Eggleston Motorsport Liam McAdam Holden Commodore VE2 1:32.8812 01.4747
15 Kostecki Brothers Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 1:33.0454 01.6389
16 Auto One / MSR Adam Marjoram Ford Falcon FG 1:33.5837 02.1772
17 Kostecki Brothers Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 1:33.6354 02.2289
18 Image Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:33.7299 02.3234
19 Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG 1:34.1465 02.7400
20 Dragon Motor Racing Chelsea Angelo Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.2390 02.8325
21 Performance West/LD Motorsport Alex Rullo Holden Commodore VF 1:34.3150 02.9085
22 Action Towing Marcus Zukanovic Ford Falcon FG 1:34.3322 02.9257
23 S&J Automotive Dan Day Ford Falcon FG 1:36.0846 04.6781
24 Kilar Towing Equipment / STR Mathew Palmer Ford Falcon FG 1:36.2537 04.8472
25 Team Caltex Renee Gracie Ford Falcon FG 1:37.8464 06.4399

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]