Supports: Sieders strikes again in V8 Utes

David Sieders

David Sieders

David Sieders controlled the final V8 Utes Racing Series encounter at Symmons Plains to score his third race win of the season.

The Holden driver managed to snatch the lead from pole-sitter Ryan Hansford at Turn 2 on the opening tour.

Hansford applied pressure on Sieders throughout the 21 lap heat in the hope the latter would make a mistake, but the Mango Credit backed racer held firm to take the chequered flag.

Nathan Pretty shadowed Sieders and Hansford on his way to third, while 2014 champion Kris Walton recovered from a slow start to come home in fourth.

The only incident of note occurred on lap 17 when Mason Barbera ran into the back of Kim Jane at Turn 6, which saw the former receive a drive-through penalty.

Hansford’s second place saw him take the round win while Sieders extended his lead in the championship.

The V8 Utes Racing Series heads to Phillip Island for the third round of the season from April 15-17.

CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship 

Jordan Love claimed an impressive double victory in the first round of the CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship at Symmons Plains.

The Team BRM driver stormed to victory in Race 2 courtesy of a well-judged move around the outside of Nick Rowe in the closing stages of the 14 lap heat.

He then repeated the feat by producing a lights-to-flag drive over Will Brown in the final encounter with the latter taking the round win by a point from his Team BRM team-mate.

The opening race of the day provided plenty of entertainment as Josh Denton and Race 1 winner Brenton Grove battled over the lead in the early stages.

Grove assumed the lead on lap two with a slick move at Turn 4 but it proved to be short-lived as he and Denton tangled at Turn 6, bringing out the Safety Car.

Denton had tried to pass Grove around the outside at the corner but the two cars clipped wheels, sending them off the circuit.

This handed Brown the lead however a mistake at Turn 6 once racing resumed saw last season’s rookie of the year drop to fourth.

Nick Rowe assumed the lead but came under severe pressure from Love in the final laps.

Not content to settle for second, Love drove around the outside of Rowe at Turn 6 with two laps to go which set up the victory.

Rowe claimed second while the recovering Brown managed to salvage the final place on the podium.

The final race of the weekend saw Love and Brown locked in a race long battle, but the former held his nerve to take the victory.

Rowe clinched another podium in third ahead of Jack Smith and Denton.

The championship continues at Phillip Island from April 15-17.

HQ Holdens

Shane Ashlin proved unbeatable in the two HQ Holden races on the final day of action at the Tasmania Super Sprint.

Ashlin scythed his way through the field from 13th on the grid to win Race 2 from Phil Ashlin and Noel Clark.

Jason Bell has led the early laps before a mechanical issue saw him drop down the order handing the lead to Phil Ashlin.

However, nobody could stop the hard charging Shane Ashlin from coming through the field to take the chequered flag by 0.3s.

The Race 2 victor endured a more straight forward win in the final race from pole position.

Phil Ashlin finished in second while Dwayne Preece fought his way through the pack to claim third.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]