Davison wins after late drama at Symmons

Will Davison

Will Davison

Will Davison scored victory in Race 5 at Symmons Plains after a dramatic finish that saw heartbreak for Shane van Gisbergen.

Van Gisbergen and Mark Winterbottom had been the drivers to beat throughout the 200km race, with the Red Bull driver seemingly on his way to a second victory in as many days.

Fluid dropped by Cameron Waters’ Ford at the Turn 4 hairpin with five laps remaining, however, turned the race on its head as the leaders were two of several to slide off.

Davison, who had taken third from Craig Lowndes two laps earlier, swept to the lead, scoring his first victory for Tekno and moving to the championship lead in the process.

Lowndes followed him through the chaos to finish second while Winterbottom recovered to salvage third.

Van Gisbergen spent the closing laps trying unsuccessfully to extract his Holden from the gravel and was eventually classified as a retirement.

Scott McLaughlin and Chaz Mostert completed the top five, while Holden Racing Team duo Garth Tander and James Courtney recovered from poor qualifying performances to finish sixth and seventh respectively.

Van Gisbergen and Winterbottom had been rarely separated by more than a second throughout the 200km contest, for which pit strategy was dictated by two Safety Car periods.

Pole-sitter Winterbottom held the lead through the opening turns, elbowing Van Gisbergen aside during side-to-side contact on the run to Turn 2.

The Bottle-O Ford could not hold on for long however, with Van Gisbergen and team-mate Jamie Whincup scything past on lap 3 of 84.

A crash for Chris Pither two laps later triggered the first Safety Car, sending almost the entire field to pitlane.

Whincup was among the biggest losers as he was forced to stack behind Van Gisbergen, dropping back to 13th.

Van Gisbergen held the lead during the middle stint despite several nudges from an aggressive Winterbottom.

The Holden driver edged away to be more than a second ahead before a second full course yellow again saw the bulk of the field pit together.

Whincup, who had fought his way back into the top 10, was the cause of the second Safety Car on lap 40, running into the Turn 4 gravel trap on his own immediately after his stop.

The six-time champion eventually finished 19th after again visiting the Turn 4 run-off during the late drama.

The race’s hard luck stories included that of Waters, who dropped from sixth to 20th when stacking behind Winterbottom under the first Safety Car.

Any chance of a decent result for the Monster Ford was eventually dashed when engine problems required a spell in the garage as the second stops were commencing.

Pither’s sister Prodrive entry fared worst of all, however, taking heavy damage in his lap 5 crash.

The Kiwi had spun into the left-side fence at the exit of the Turn 4 hairpin following contact from Nick Percat.

Lowndes and Rick Kelly were the two biggest beneficiaries of the early yellow, jumping into the top four having completed their first stops at the end of the opening lap.

Kelly fell back to ninth by the start of the final stint, where brake problems caused several offs and eventually a trip to the garage.

Tim Blanchard later endured a wild moment of his own, spearing into the Turn 6 gravel in the closing stages with a damaged front splitter.

The V8 Supercars Championship continues at Phillip Island in two weeks’ time.

Result: V8 Supercars Tyrepower Tasmania Super Sprint Race 5

1 Team Darrell Lea STIX Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 84 01:20:51.7031
2 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 84 01:20:54.2733
3 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 84 01:20:55.6840
4 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 84 01:20:58.0973
5 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 84 01:21:00.2477
6 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 84 01:21:01.3333
7 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 84 01:21:07.4279
8 DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 84 01:21:11.0840
9 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 84 01:21:12.6003
10 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 84 01:21:17.0192
11 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 84 01:21:17.4130
12 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 84 01:21:17.8317
13 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 84 01:21:17.9710
14 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 84 01:21:19.1876
15 ARBO/Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 84 01:21:20.8084
16 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Volvo S60 84 01:21:38.8289
17 Plus Fitness Racing Aaren Russell Holden Commodore VF 84 01:21:39.1032
18 Erebus Motorsport Penrite David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 83 01:21:05.8902
19 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 79 01:21:25.8206
20 Team GB Galvanizing Dale Wood Nissan Altima 78 01:21:11.6394
DNF Red Bull Racing Australia Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 79 01:16:22.1592
DNF ABRO/Repair Management Aust Racing Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore VF 77 01:15:59.6512
DNF Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 74 01:12:29.7984
DNF Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 63 01:15:53.3209
DNF Sengled Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 57 01:04:29.2040
DNF Super Black Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG/X  3     2:49.3117

Championship Standings

1 Will Davison 417
2 Craig Lowndes 402
3 Jamie Whincup 393
4 Mark Winterbottom 378
5 Garth Tander 361
6 James Courtney 348
7 Shane Van Gisbergen 347
8 Jason Bright 339
9 Michael Caruso 336
10 Scott McLaughlin 336
11 Todd Kelly 298
12 Rick Kelly 291
13 Cameron Waters 280
14 David Reynolds 274
15 Fabian Coulthard 268
16 Chaz Mostert 266
17 Nick Percat 264
18 Scott Pye 262
19 Lee Holdsworth 243
20 Tim Slade 228
21 James Moffat 198
22 Tim Blanchard 164
23 Dale Wood 131
24 Andre Heimgartner 119
25 Aaren Russell  99
26 Chris Pither  79

VIDEO: Oil causes chaos in the closing stages of Race 5

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]