Rosberg dominates Bahrain GP practice

Nico Rosberg

Nico Rosberg

Nico Rosberg signalled his intentions for the weekend with a dominant performance in practice for the Bahrain Grand Prix.

The Mercedes driver topped both 90 minute sessions at the Sakhir circuit posting a personal best 1:31.001s effort in Friday’s second hit out under floodlights.

Rosberg, who was half a second faster than team-mate Lewis Hamilton in opening practice, continued his impressive form ending the day 0.2s ahead of the reigning world champion.

The German’s time arrived on the super-soft tyres having led the earlier runs on the soft compound.

McLaren produced arguably its best practice display since Honda joined the team with Jenson Button third fastest.

The Brit was however 1.2s adrift of the Mercedes duo while Toro Rosso’s Max Verstappen was a tenth further back in fourth.

Kimi Raikkonen emerged in fifth after dedicating much of the session to long runs as he worked on his race pace.

Team-mate Sebastian Vettel endured an eventful second session which came to a premature halt when the four-time world champion suffered a wheel nut issue.

Vettel had clocked a time good enough for third on soft tyres but was unable to improve following two errors during his super-soft runs, leaving him in sixth.

Red Bull’s Daniil Kvyat was seventh quickest ahead of the Williams of Valtteri Bottas and team-mate Daniel Ricicardo, while Felipe Massa rounded out the top 10.

Stoffel Vandoorne finished practice 2 just outside the top 10 in 11th as the Belgian impressed while standing in for the injured Fernando Alonso at McLaren.

Esteban Gutierrez was the top Haas F1 runner in 12th ahead of Carlos Sainz and team-mate Romain Grosjean.

Renault struggled for pace with Kevin Magnussen the top performer in 16th as he sandwiched the Force Indias of Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio Perez.

Sauber and Manor Racing filled the remaining positions.

Result: Formula 1 Bahrain Grand Prix Practice 1

Position Driver Car Time Gap Laps
1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:32.294s 24
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:32.799s +0.505s 24
3 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:34.128s +1.834s 16
4 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/TAG Heuer 1:34.461s +2.167s 27
5 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull/TAG Heuer 1:34.541s +2.247s 30
6 Nico Hulkenberg Force India/Mercedes 1:34.601s +2.307s 28
7 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Ferrari 1:34.793s +2.499s 21
8 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso/Ferrari 1:34.860s +2.566s 19
9 Romain Grosjean Haas/Ferrari 1:35.000s +2.706s 18
10 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 1:35.006s +2.712s 19
11 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:35.073s +2.779s 14
12 Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes 1:35.174s +2.880s 21
13 Esteban Gutierrez Haas/Ferrari 1:35.309s +3.015s 19
14 Jenson Button McLaren/Honda 1:35.440s +3.146s 28
15 Kevin Magnussen Renault 1:35.490s +3.196s 27
16 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 1:35.728s +3.434s 30
17 Pascal Wehrlein Manor/Mercedes 1:36.371s +4.077s 26
18 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren/Honda 1:36.392s +4.098s 25
19 Felipe Nasr Sauber/Ferrari 1:36.719s +4.425s 24
20 Jolyon Palmer Renault 1:36.939s +4.645s 28
21 Alfonso Celis Force India/Mercedes 1:37.287s +4.993s 23
22 Rio Haryanto Manor/Mercedes 1:37.714s +5.420s 27

Result: Formula 1 Bahrain Grand Prix Practice 2

Position Driver Car Time Gap Laps
1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:31.001s 38
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:31.242s +0.241s 32
3 Jenson Button McLaren/Honda 1:32.281s +1.280s 32
4 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso/Ferrari 1:32.406s +1.405s 31
5 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:32.452s +1.451s 38
6 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:32.650s +1.649s 26
7 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull/TAG Heuer 1:32.703s +1.702s 34
8 Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes 1:32.792s +1.791s 39
9 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/TAG Heuer 1:32.870s +1.869s 23
10 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 1:32.873s +1.872s 36
11 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren/Honda 1:32.999s +1.998s 30
12 Esteban Gutierrez Haas/Ferrari 1:33.129s +2.128s 31
13 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Ferrari 1:33.177s +2.176s 36
14 Romain Grosjean Haas/Ferrari 1:33.384s +2.383s 23
15 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 1:33.406s +2.405s 35
16 Kevin Magnussen Renault 1:33.447s +2.446s 34
17 Nico Hulkenberg Force India/Mercedes 1:33.570s +2.569s 37
18 Jolyon Palmer Renault 1:33.640s +2.639s 35
19 Pascal Wehrlein Manor/Mercedes 1:33.953s +2.952s 21
20 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 1:34.224s +3.223s 31
21 Felipe Nasr Sauber/Ferrari 1:34.477s +3.476s 34
22 Rio Haryanto Manor/Mercedes 1:34.562s +3.561s 33

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]