Prodrive trumps T8 in Symmons practice

Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom led young team-mate Cameron Waters to a Prodrive one-two in Friday practice for the Tyrepower Super Sprint at Symmons Plains.

The Ford duo shaded Triple Eight trio Jamie Whincup, Shane van Gisbergen and Craig Lowndes in the dying seconds of the day’s second 60 minute hit-out.

Prodrive’s Chaz Mostert led the bulk of the first half of the session as teams continued set-up work on their practice tyres.

Rick Kelly broke the deadlock by moving to P1 at the halfway mark, before Lowndes took over the front-running with 20 minutes remaining.

Whincup then jumped to the front when the green tyres came out across the field in the final minutes, with his 51.49s effort looking enough to fend off all comers.

Winterbottom, however, had other ideas and after breifly going second by 0.01s, the reigning champion edged 0.08s ahead of Whincup with his final lap.

Waters fell just 0.05s short of his team-mate for second in a session that saw the top five separated by 0.1s.

“The car was really good,” said Winterbottom.

“I was a little bit of a lone ranger on my new tyres by myself, I didn’t get a tow down the straights.

“But it was just nice to get on with it and have a car that is reacting to changes and pretty comfortable.

“You only have to be half a tenth better than the next guy on such a tight track and you look like a hero.

“It’s going to be tough to find that next little bit but today was a pretty good day.”

Lee Holdsworth’s encouraging day continued with sixth ahead of James Courtney, Scott Pye, Will Davison and Jason Bright.

Pye’s time came after the DJR Team Penske Ford spent almost the entire day on hard tyres, switching to the quicker rubber for just two brief spells in the closing stages of Practice 2.

Team-mate Fabian Coulthard ended up 23rd after the timing of a major late set-up change prevented a final flying lap on new tyres.

A third and final practice session will take place tomorrow morning ahead of qualifying.

Result: V8 Supercars Tyrepower Tasmania Super Sprint Practice 2

1 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 51.4225*S
2 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 51.4714 S 00.0489
3 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 51.4987 S 00.0762
4 Red Bull Racing Australia Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 51.5032 S 00.0807
5 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 51.5253 S 00.1028
6 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 51.5370 S 00.1145
7 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 51.5874 S 00.1649
8 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 51.6232 S 00.2007
9 Team Darrell Lea STIX Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 51.6366 S 00.2141
10 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 51.6602 S 00.2377
11 Erebus Motorsport Penrite David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 51.6748 S 00.2523
12 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 51.6988 S 00.2763
13 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 51.7139 S 00.2914
14 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 51.7717 S 00.3492
15 Sengled Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 51.8391 S 00.4166
16 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 51.8984 S 00.4759
17 Super Black Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG/X 51.9467 S 00.5242
18 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Volvo S60 52.0087 S 00.5862
19 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 52.0224 S 00.5999
20 ABRO/Repair Management Aust Racing Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore VF 52.0276 S 00.6051
21 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 52.1584 S 00.7359
22 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 52.1603 S 00.7378
23 DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 52.1935 S 00.7710
24 Team GB Galvanizing Dale Wood Nissan Altima 52.2185 S 00.7960
25 Plus Fitness Racing Aaren Russell Holden Commodore VF 52.3028 S 00.8803
26 ARBO/Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 52.3214 S 00.8989

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]