Sera, Doohan head winners at Aus Kart Champs

David Sera (96) withholding a challenge from Kyle Ensbey (3) PIC: Cooper's Photography

David Sera (96) withholding a challenge from Kyle Ensbey (3) PIC: Cooper’s Photography

David Sera and Jack Doohan were the big senior and junior winners at the second round of the Australian Kart Championships at Puckapunyal in Victoria.

Sera visited the KZ2 Gearbox victory lane for the first time since 2014 after a spirited battle that saw a number of drivers throw a challenge to him.

Most notable was Queenslander Kyle Ensbey, who led the race early then after dropping back forced his way by the 17-time Australian Champion. Sera was able to take advantage of an attack on Sera by young Canberra racer, Joshua Fife and get past both of them.

He then had Fife locked to his crashbar for the remaining laps, using all his guile to come away with the win.

“It was tough, I was really doing everything to keep the field behind me, I didn’t have the pace if I was to be honest,” Sera reflected.

“Josh was really pushing hard and I had to try anything I could to keep him from passing me, as I knew he would have pulled away during those last few laps. Kyle is a hard competitor, he was really going for it this weekend. I am exhausted, it was a really taxing fight, but a good feeling to be back on top, it has been a while!”

Jack Doohan claiming victory in KA2. PIC: Cooper's Photography

Jack Doohan claiming victory in KA2. PIC: Cooper’s Photography

Jack Doohan was able to get his first round win in the elite Junior class. The son of five time 500cc World Champion, Mick hadn’t been on the pace all weekend but was able to push his way forward and lead a Kosmic trifecta, followed home by Cameron Longmore and fellow Gold Coaster, Lachlan Hughes.

Queenslander Adam Mercer led home the X30 field by 2.5 seconds in one of the most emphatic wins of the day, whilst Championship leader Brendan Nelson took his second consecutive TaG Final.

Scott Sorenson in the HDR Racing Arrow took victory in the KA1 Final over reigning Australian Junior Champion Reece Sidebottom and 14-year-old debutant, Cory Arnett.

The KA4 Junior Final produced the best race seen this season and one of the best in the Australian Kart Championship era, with five drivers locked in a battle for the entire 16 lap distance. In the end, Sydney-sider Benito Montalbano emerged on top.

15-year-old Cody Donald won the KA3 Senior category, Kobi Williams the Cadet 12 class and Alex Ninovic the Cadet 9 category.

The next round of the Australian Kart Championships, presented by Jayco and Castrol EDGE will take place at the Monarto Karting complex just outside of Adelaide over the weekend of May 13-15.

On demand video of all Sunday races available here.

Round 2 – Top Three

Cadet 9
1. Alex Nonovic (NSW) – TB Kart/Vortex
2. Doninic Attard (QLD) – Exprit/Vortex
3. Leon Cordato (NSW) – Monaco/Vortex

Cadet 12
1. Kobi Williams (Victoria) – FA Kart/Vortex
2. Fletcher Harris (Victoria) – Haase/Vortex
3. James Wharton (Victoria) – CRG/Vortex

KA4 Junior
1. Benito Montalbano (NSW) – PCR/IAME
2. Cooper Webster (Victoria) – Arrow/IAME
3. Travis Worton (Victoria) – Arrow/IAME

KA3 Senior
1. Cody Donald (Victoria) – Arrow/IAME
2. Jordan Nicolaou (Victoria) – Arrow/IAME
3. Spencer Ackerman (Victoria) – Tony Kart/IAME

TaG 125
1. Brendan Nelson (QLD) – FA Kart/IAME
2. Liam Ford (Victoria) – Kosmic/Rotax
3. Mitchell Hewitt (NSW) – Redspeed/Rotax

1. Adam Mercer (QLD) – Arrow/IAME
2. Joshua Car (NSW) – CompKart/IAME
3. Daniel Rochford (Victoria) – Arrow/IAME

1. Jack Doohan (QLD) – Kosmic/Vortex
2. Cameron Longmore (NSW) – Kosmic/Vortex
3. Lachlan Hughes (QLD) – Kosmic/Vortex

1. Scott Sorensen (QLD) – Arrow/Vortex
2. Reece Sidebottom (Victoria) – Kosmic/Vortex
3. Cory Arnett (Victoria) – Kosmic/Vortex

1. David Sera (Victoria) – Deadly/IAME
2. Joshua Fife (ACT) – Energy/TM
3. Marijn Kremers (Queensland) – Ricciardo/IAME


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]