POLL: Who will score Holden’s 500th race win?

Monday 28th March, 2016 - 10:24am


Holden is on the verge of its 500th win

Holden is on the verge of its 500th win

Holden is closing in on another milestone as the V8 Supercars Championship heads to Symmons Plains this weekend.

The manufacturer is on the verge of claiming its 500th championship Australian Touring Car Championship (ATCC)/V8 Supercars Championship race win.

Holden has been an ever present part of the ATCC scoring its first championship race win in 1969 when Norm Beechey took victory at Surfers Paradise behind the wheel of a Holden Monaro.

Since then it has become the championship’s most successful brand in terms of race wins, while also powering drivers Beechey, Peter Brock, Colin Bond, Bob Morris, Mark Skaife, Craig Lowndes, Rick Kelly, Garth Tander and Jamie Whincup to a combined 19 championship titles.

After Nick Percat delivered the marque’s 499th win at the Clipsal 500, the form book suggests the milestone will be reached at Symmons Plains this weekend, with Holden unbeaten at the venue in a run of 10 races stretching back to 2012.

Three different Holden drivers from three different teams scored race wins at Adelaide’s season opener, with Jamie Whincup (Red Bull), James Courtney (HRT) and Nick Percat (LDM) all finding success.

Whincup’s team-mate Shane van Gisbergen added his name to the winners list in the non-championship Albert Park sprints, while a host of others including Craig Lowndes and Garth Tander have also shown strong speed.

Who will score Holden’s 500th ATCC/V8 race win?

Cast your vote on this week’s Pirtek Poll.

Pirtek Poll comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!