Hamilton quickest in final Albert Park practice

Lewis Hamilton

Lewis Hamilton

Lewis Hamilton showcased Mercedes’ strength once again as he edged team-mate Nico Rosberg in the first dry session of the season at Albert Park.

The reigning world champion posted his personal best in the final quarter of the 60 minute hit out which saw Mercedes use the super-soft tyres for the first time on its new W07.

Rosberg, who encountered a spin early in the running, was 0.176s slower than his Silver Arrows rival.

Sebastian Vettel was third fastest with the Ferrari driver just 0.228s adrift of Hamilton following his run on the super-soft compound.

The session provided the first real glimpse into the form book this year with the 60 minute practice run in dry conditions after rain affected Friday’s outings.

A late effort from Toro Rosso’s Carlos Sainz saw the Spaniard pop up into fourth ahead of the sister Ferrari of Kimi Raikkonen.

Max Verstappen was sixth in front of the Williams of Valtteri Bottas, while Daniel Ricciardo was eighth.

The Red Bull driver had topped the session having been one of the first to fit super-soft tyres, before ending the session 1.1s shy of the pace.

Felipe Massa and Sergio Perez rounded out the top 10 with the McLaren duo of Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button 11th and 12th respectively.

Kevin Magnussen emerged as the top Renault in 15th position with new boys Haas F1 18th and 19th courtesy of Esteban Gutierrez and Romain Grosjean.

Grosjean joined the session late following tangle in the pit lane with Manor’s Rio Haryanto which inflicted damaged on the Frenchman’s car.

The new elimination qualifying format will make its debut from 1700 local time.

Result: Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix Practice 3, Albert Park

Position Driver Car Time Gap Laps
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:25.624s 24
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:25.800s +0.176s 25
3 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:25.852s +0.228s 25
4 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Ferrari 1:26.257s +0.633s 28
5 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:26.435s +0.811s 23
6 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso/Ferrari 1:26.701s +1.077s 26
7 Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes 1:26.730s +1.106s 28
8 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/TAG Heuer 1:26.768s +1.144s 22
9 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 1:27.151s +1.527s 28
10 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 1:27.242s +1.618s 22
11 Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda 1:27.263s +1.639s 20
12 Jenson Button McLaren/Honda 1:27.341s +1.717s 20
13 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull/TAG Heuer 1:27.430s +1.806s 22
14 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 1:27.659s +2.035s 26
15 Kevin Magnussen Renault 1:27.871s +2.247s 24
16 Nico Hulkenberg Force India/Mercedes 1:27.988s +2.364s 22
17 Jolyon Palmer Renault 1:28.117s +2.493s 24
18 Esteban Gutierrez Haas/Ferrari 1:28.284s +2.660s 21
19 Romain Grosjean Haas/Ferrari 1:28.292s +2.668s 11
20 Felipe Nasr Sauber/Ferrari 1:28.293s +2.669s 26
21 Pascal Wehrlein Manor/Mercedes 1:29.046s +3.422s 18
22 Rio Haryanto Manor/Mercedes 1:29.272s +3.648s 23

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]