V8 Supercars stars handed points penalties

Tander, right, congratulates winner Nick Percat

Tander, right, congratulates winner Nick Percat

Two V8 Supercars stars have been dealt points penalties following an action packed Sunday leg of the Clipsal 500 Adelaide.

Third place finisher Garth Tander has lost 15 points thanks to an early tap on Jamie Whincup that sent the Red Bull Holden into a spin at Turn 9.

The penalty drops Tander from third to fifth in the championship standings behind leader Michael Caruso, Whincup, Shane van Gisbergen and Scott McLaughlin.

Prodrive’s Chaz Mostert has meanwhile been docked 15 points following similar contact a short time later with Rick Kelly, which spun the Nissan at the same corner.

Mostert, who crashed out of the event, falls from 20th to 22nd in points as a result.

Investigating Officer Jason Bargwanna also completed post-race investigations into contact between Nick Percat and James Moffat and between Garth Tander and Tim Slade, but declared that no rules had been breached in either instance.

Five drivers – Fabian Coulthard, Scott Pye, Slade, James Courtney and Moffat – were all handed 60 second post-race time penalties for failing to complete the minimum 140 litre fuel drop.

DJR Team Penske pair Coulthard and Pye dropped from second and third to 16th and 17th in the race result due to their penalties, while the remaining trio were already the last three classified finishers after losing laps with damage earlier in the contest.

Championship Standings

1 Michael Caruso 222
2 Jamie Whincup 207
3 Shane Van Gisbergen 197
4 Scott McLaughlin 189
5 Garth Tander 187
6 James Courtney 186
7 Cameron Waters 184
8 Todd Kelly 181
9 Nick Percat 171
10 Rick Kelly 171
11 David Reynolds 166
12 Mark Winterbottom 165
13 Jason Bright 159
14 Craig Lowndes 153
15 Will Davison 138
16 Scott Pye 136
17 Fabian Coulthard 127
18 Tim Blanchard 104
19 James Moffat  96
20 Lee Holdsworth  90
21 Andre Heimgartner  89
22 Chaz Mostert  77
23 Tim Slade  72
24 Dale Wood  47
25 Chris Pither  25
26 Aaren Russell   9


Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]