McLaughlin tops Sunday Clipsal 500 qualifying

Scott McLaughlin

Scott McLaughlin

Scott McLaughlin will be the last out in the Top 10 Shootout after topping a Sunday Clipsal 500 qualifying session of mixed fortunes for Volvo.

McLaughlin jumped from 23rd to first after the chequered flag fell on the 20 minute run, recording a 1:20.41s lap to edge previous fast man Chaz Mostert by 0.06s.

The session was punctuated by a lengthy red flag at halfway, triggered to clean up power steering fluid left from James Moffat’s Volvo at the final corner.

Moffat spun on his own fluid as smoke belched from the S60 in a return of the steering issues the squad endured last year.

After a nine minute delay, qualifying resumed with drivers having to adjust their lines into the corner in order to avoid the mess.

A 1:20.7s from Mostert was the fastest time before the stoppage and lasted until Jamie Whincup cut 0.13s from the benchmark with 90 seconds remaining.

Shane van Gisbergen went second in the final seconds, only for Mostert and eventually McLaughlin to pop into P1 after the chequered flag.

“I didn’t make it easy for myself at all,” said McLaughlin of his session.

“I was just glad to be in the 10 but to be fastest is awesome.

“It was hard with those conditions at the last corner.

“I thought you had to be a bit narrower than you really did, so I’ve got a bit of time to find there.”

Mostert, Whincup and Van Gisbergen held onto second through fourth, while Fabian Coulthard, Rick Kelly, Scott Pye, Mark Winterbottom, James Courtney and Cameron Waters complete the Top 10 Shootout field.

Courtney suffered a scare during the red flag delay when heat shielding in the engine bay of his Holden briefly caught fire as the car sat in the pitlane.

McLaughlin’s late heroics bumped Michael Caruso from the Shootout, while the highest profile spectator for the Top 10 run-off will be Craig Lowndes, who is set to start down in 17th.

Result: V8 Supercars Clipsal 500 Qualifying 3

1 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:20.4055*H
2 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.4622 H 00.0567
3 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:20.5746 H 00.1691
4 Red Bull Racing Australia Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:20.6564 H 00.2509
5 DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.7551 H 00.3496
6 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:20.8131 H 00.4076
7 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.8204 H 00.4149
8 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.8267 H 00.4212
9 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:20.8581 H 00.4526
10 Prodrive Racing Australia Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.8869 H 00.4814
11 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:20.9215 H 00.5160
12 Team Darrell Lea STIX Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 1:20.9628 H 00.5573
13 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:20.9781 H 00.5726
14 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:21.0140 H 00.6085
15 LD Motorsports Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:21.0140 H 00.6085
16 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:21.0250 H 00.6195
17 Team Vortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:21.0670 H 00.6615
18 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:21.0712 H 00.6657
19 LD Motorsports Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore VF 1:21.1036 H 00.6981
20 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:21.1565 H 00.7510
21 Erebus Motorsport Penrite David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 1:21.1694 H 00.7639
22 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Nissan Altima 1:21.3195 H 00.9140
23 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:21.3735 H 00.9680
24 Plus Fitness Racing Aaren Russell Holden Commodore VF 1:21.8199 H 01.4144
25 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Volvo S60 3:23.3981 H 2:02.9926

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]