Lago error hands Walls Aus GT victory

Tony Walls claimed victory in the third Australian GT race

Tony Walls claimed victory in the third Australian GT race

A final lap lock up from Roger Lago handed Tony Walls victory in a drama-filled Australian GT race at the Clipsal 500.

Lago seemed on course to record his second win of the weekend when an error on the last lap saw him miss his braking spot and run down the escape road at Turn 4 ending his race.

The mistake handed the Walls’ McLaren 650S the victory from the Glen Wood/Justin McMillan Lamborghini, while Eggleston Motorsport’s Matt Solomon claimed third.

Once again it proved to be an eventful race with the Safety Car called on the opening lap when Peter Hackett’s new Mercedes AMG GT tagged the James Koundouris Audi R8 at Turn 3 putting them both out the race.

The Darrell Lea McLaren of Klark Quinn was also damaged in the incident.

Lago led the field prior to the caution from the Tekno McLaren 650S of Jonathon Webb and the Mercedes AMG GT of Craig Baird.

A hard charging Baird soon found himself in the lead shortly after the restart following moves on Webb and Lago.

Aided by a shorter compulsory pit stop time Lago rejoined the race in second, with Baird handing the Mercedes to Scott Taylor with a comfortable lead.

However, a brush with the wall at Turn 1 allowed Lago to catch and pass Taylor for the lead.

Once in front Lago seemed in control before the final lap drama which ended his race when he hit the wall while attempting a flick spin to recover.

This lifted Walls and Wood, who both passed the struggling Taylor, into first and second.

Wood pushed Walls hard on the final but the McLaren driver just held on to claim the win.

Solomon’s run to third was not without incident as the Mercedes driver tagged Greg Taylor’s Audi into a spin late in the encounter.

Meanwhile, Dean Canto brought the Lamborghini he is sharing with Andrew Taplin to fourth, ahead of the Aaron Tebb/John Martin Porsche, which started from 25th on the grid.

Scott Taylor finished sixth in his Mercedes AMG GT3 in front of Mark Griffith (Mercedes), Ricky Capo (BMW), Nathan Morcom and Simon Ellingham (Audi).

Result: Australian GT Clipsal 500 Race 3

1 Objective Racing  Tony Walls (QLD) McLaren 650S GT3 25 39:36.3613
2 Interlloy M Motorsport  J.McMillan/G.Wood Lamborghini R-EX 25 39:36.7185
3 Eggleston Motorsport  Matthew Solomon Mercedes Benz AMG GT 25 39:38.2301
4 Taplin Real Estate  A.Taplin/D.Canto Lamborghini Gallardo 25 39:45.6741
5 Waltec Motorsport  J.Martin/A.Tebb Porsche 997 GT3-R 25 40:00.0394
6 Scott Taylor Motorsport  S.Taylor/C.Baird Mercedes Benz AMG GT 25 40:06.0739
7 Hogs Breath Cafe/Griffith Co  Mark Griffith (QLD) Mercedes Benz AMG GT 25 40:07.5536
8 Modena Engineering  Ricky Capo (VIC) BMW Z4 GT3 25 40:10.3666
9 Tekno  Nathan Morcom McLaren 650S GT3 25 40:10.3867
10 HBS Motorsports  Simon Ellinghham (NZ) Audi R8 Ultra 25 40:16.2215
11 Adina Apartment Hotels  Greg Taylor (NSW) Audi R8 LMS 25 40:22.3905
12 JAMEC PEM Racing  C.Mies/G.Emery Audi R8 LMS 25 40:22.5098
13 Darrell Lea  K.Quinn/T.Quinn McLaren 650S GT3 25 40:28.9810
14 AMAC Motorsport  Andrew Macpherson (NSW) Porsche 997 GT3-R 25 40:31.9513
15 SR Motorsport  S.Richards/M.Twigg BMW M6 GT3 25 40:41.0320
16 M Motorsport  Hayden Cooper (QLD) Lamborghini Gallardo 25 40:48.2245
17 JAMEC PEM Racing  Steven McLaughlan (VIC) Audi R8 LMS 25 40:52.0532
18 Skwirk Online Education  Rod Salmon (NSW) Audi R8 Ultra 25 40:54.2014
19 Koala Motorsport  B.Griguol/T.Macrow Ferrari F430 GT3 24 39:43.9849
20 Team ASR  Ash Samadi Mercedes Benz AMG SL 24 39:45.5120
21 McLaren Melbourne  J.Webb/G.Denyer McLaren 650S GT3 24 40:13.9972
22 Veloce Motorsportn – ULX110  Keith Wong (SA) Porsche GT3 Cup Car 24 40:24.3876
23 Tekno  N.Antunes/E.Barbour McLaren 650S GT3 20 40:32.3827
DNF JBS Australia  Roger Lago (QLD) Lamborghini R-EX 24 38:02.7959
DNF Supabarn Supermarkets  James Koundouris (ACT) Audi R8 LMS
DNF Eggleston Motorsport  Peter Hackett (VIC) Mercedes Benz AMG GT

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]