Coulthard scores pole for Clipsal 500 finale

Fabian Coulthard

Fabian Coulthard

Fabian Coulthard has handed DJR Team Penske its second Armor All Pole Award of the weekend ahead of this afternoon’s 250km Clipsal 500 finale.

The Kiwi was the sixth man out in the Top 10 Shootout, recording a 1:21.30s to bump previous fast man Rick Kelly from the top of the order by a full 0.5s.

Coulthard then watched on as subsequent runners Shane van Gisbergen, Jamie Whincup, Chaz Mostert and Scott McLaughlin all fell marginally short of the Shell Ford’s time.

“We qualified 18th yesterday and to turn it around for P1 today is awesome,” smiled Coulthard, having his first run with the team following a four year stint at Brad Jones Racing.

“We’ve got a long day today but it’s nice to start off the front.”

Mostert came closest to Coulthard, missing out on the pole by just 0.0065s.

Van Gisbergen and McLaughlin will share the second row ahead of Whincup and Kelly.

Mark Winterbottom survived a brush with the Turn 8 wall on the way to seventh ahead of Scott Pye and Shootout rookie Cameron Waters.

Race 2 winner James Courtney will start 10th after triggering the Turn 2 kerb sensor and abandoning his lap.

Result: V8 Supercars Clipsal 500 Top 10 Shootout 

1 DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 1:21.3006*H
2 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:21.3071 H 00.0065
3 Red Bull Racing Australia Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:21.3190 H 00.0184
4 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:21.4396 H 00.1390
5 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:21.5218 H 00.2212
6 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:21.8616 H 00.5610
7 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:22.3891 H 01.0885
8 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 1:22.5069 H 01.2063
9 Prodrive Racing Australia Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:22.6300 H 01.3294
Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]