Koundouris/Marshall claim eventful GT encounter

Marcus Marshall (left) and James Koundouris celebrate victory in Race 2

Marcus Marshall (left) and James Koundouris celebrate victory in Race 2

James Koundouris and Marcus Marshall came through to win an eventful second Australian GT race at the Clipsal 500.

The Supabarn Supermarkets Audi R8 emerged in the lead after the mandatory pits tops but was forced to endure a nervy two lap dash to the chequered flag following a late Safety Car.

A strong stint from Marshall, from ninth on the grid, placed the entry in a strong position come the pit stops, with co-driver Koundouris inheriting a comfortable 10 second lead.

However, his lead evaporated when a spin from Mark Griffith at Turn 12 saw the Safety Car introduced for a second time.

Despite coming under pressure from Geoff Emery in the final two laps, Koundouris held on to take the victory from the Jamec-Pem Audi, which stormed through the field early on courtesy of Christopher Mies.

Mies was involved in a controversial moment when he tapped race leader Nathan Morcom into a spin prior to the pit stops.

Pole-sitter Roger Lago enjoyed another impressive display to bring his Lamborghini Extenso home in third.

The opening race winner led the early laps before he was overtaken by Tekno Autosports’ Morcom after the first Safety car period. The McLaren driver came home in 15th position.

The first stoppage was caused by a multiple car incident involving Keith Wong, Rod Salmon and Aaron Tebb on the opening lap.

Meanwhile, Justin McMillan and Glen Wood brought their Lamborghini home in fourth ahead of the McLaren 650S of Tony and Klark Quinn.

Greg Taylor was sixth in his Audi R8 in front of the Egglesion Motorsport Mercedes AMG GT3 of Peter Hackett and Dominic Storey.

The top 10 was completed by Steve McLaughlan’s Audi, the Tekno McLaren of Jonathon Webb and Grant Denyer, and Tony Walls’ Objective Racing McLaren.

The final Australian GT race of the weekend will take place on Sunday at 0900 local time.

Result: Australian GT Championship Clipsal 500 Race 2

1 Supabarn Supermarkets J.Koundouris/M.Marshall Audi R8 LMS 21 37:57.1884
2 JAMEC PEM Racing C.Mies/G.Emery Audi R8 LMS 21 37:57.6573
3 JBS Australia Roger Lago (QLD) Lamborghini R-EX 21 37:58.4707
4 Interlloy M Motorsport J.McMillan/G.Wood Lamborghini R-EX 21 37:59.9101
5 Darrell Lea K.Quinn/T.Quinn McLaren 650S GT3 21 38:00.3179
6 Adina Apartment Hotels Greg Taylor (NSW) Audi R8 LMS 21 38:02.8239
7 Eggleston Motorsport P.Hackett/D.Storey Mercedes Benz AMG GT 21 38:04.0793
8 JAMEC PEM Racing Steven McLaughlan (VIC) Audi R8 LMS 21 38:05.8684
9 McLaren Melbourne J.Webb/G.Denyer McLaren 650S GT3 21 38:06.0549
10 Objective Racing Tony Walls (QLD) McLaren 650S GT3 21 38:06.5625
11 Scott Taylor Motorsport S.Taylor/C.Baird Mercedes Benz AMG GT 21 38:06.7610
12 HBS Motorsports Simon Ellinghham (NZ) Audi R8 Ultra 21 38:07.5771
13 AMAC Motorsport Andrew Macpherson (NSW) Porsche 997 GT3-R 21 38:09.7323
14 Modena Engineering Ricky Capo (VIC) BMW Z4 GT3 21 38:10.2729
15 Tekno Nathan Morcom McLaren 650S GT3 21 38:10.3157
16 Taplin Real Estate A.Taplin/D.Canto Lamborghini Gallardo 21 38:10.7034
17 Team ASR Ash Samadi Mercedes Benz AMG SL 21 38:12.0096
18 M Motorsport John Magro (QLD) Lamborghini Gallardo 21 38:12.4741
19 Koala Motorsport B.Griguol/T.Macrow Ferrari F430 GT3 21 38:18.1227
20 Eggleston Motorsport Matthew Solomon Mercedes Benz AMG GT 21 38:36.3422
21 SR Motorsport S.Richards/M.Twigg BMW M6 GT3 21 38:37.3552
22 Tekno N.Antunes/E.Barbour McLaren 650S GT3 20 38:14.6701
DNF Hogs Breath Cafe/Griffith Co Mark Griffith (QLD) Mercedes Benz AMG GT 13 24:01.5872
DNF Veloce Motorsportn – ULX110 Keith Wong (SA) Porsche GT3 Cup Car
DNF Waltec Motorsport Aaron Tebb (QLD) Porsche 997 GT3-R
DNF Skwirk Online Education Rod Salmon (NSW) Audi R8 Ultra

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]