Jacobson converts to claim first Dunlop win

Garry Jacobson takes the chequered flag in Race 2

Garry Jacobson takes the chequered flag in Race 2

Garry Jacobson produced a faultless drive to record a maiden Dunlop Series victory and round win in another Safety Car affected encounter at the Clipsal 500.

The Prodrive Racing driver was shadowed by team-mate Jack Le Brocq for the majority of the race before he was passed by James Golding shortly after the first Safety Car restart.

Following a breakthrough pole position, the result eclipsed Jacobson’s previous best finish of second at Sydney Olympic Park last year.

Le Brocq was forced to settle for third after losing out to Golding, who produced an impressive move in the final laps.

The race ended under Safety Car conditions when Richard Muscat and Alex Rullo both found the Turn 8 wall in separate incidents once racing resumed after the second Safety Car.

Former Dunlop Series winner Paul Dumbrell provided most of the action in the race as he surged from seventh on the grid to third with moves on Macauley Jones, Andrew Jones, Todd Hazelwood and Golding.

However, his charge came to premature end when the Triple Eight V8 Supercars co-driver clipped the Turn 1 tyre wall and skidded down the escape road at Turn 3 on lap 9.

Shortly after the incident Renee Gracie brought out the Safety Car when she ran into the gravel trap at Turn 12.

Despite coming under pressure in the closing stages, Todd Hazelwood finished fourth ahead of Macauley Jones and Shae Davies in the first of the older generation V8 Supercars.

Taz Douglas, Steve Owen, Jesse Dixon and Liam McAdam filled positions seventh through to tenth.

Josh Kean was involved in the only other incident of note when Kurt Kostecki punted him out of the race on lap 4.

Result: Dunlop Series Clipsal 500 Race 2

1 Challenger Valve Racing Garry Jacobson Ford Falcon FG/X 16 28:13.6222
2 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM James Golding Holden Commodore VF 16 28:14.3303
3 GoGetta Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG/X 16 28:15.5420
4 iseek Communication / MSR Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore VF 16 28:16.1564
5 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 16 28:16.8838
6 DavBridge Constructions /MWM Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG 16 28:17.3161
7 THR Developments / SA Racing Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 16 28:18.0891
8 Rob Roy Hotel Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 16 28:18.8844
9 Jack Link’s Racing / MWM Jesse Dixon Ford Falcon FG 16 28:19.7618
10 Eggleston Motorsport Liam McAdam Holden Commodore VE2 16 28:20.4859
11 Auto One / MSR Adam Marjoram Ford Falcon FG 16 28:21.0934
12 Paul Morris Motrosports Anton de Pasquale Ford Falcon FG 16 28:21.8995
13 Dragon Motor Racing Chelsea Angelo Holden Commodore VE2 16 28:23.4748
14 Dreamland Bedding Dan Day Ford Falcon FG 16 28:24.5524
15 Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG 16 28:25.7662
16 Kilar Towing Equipment / STR Mathew Palmer Ford Falcon FG 16 28:26.4183
17 Warrin Mining / Volvo CE Adam Wallis Holden Commodore VE2 16 28:27.2403
18 Kostecki Brothers Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 16 28:27.9426
19 Alliance Truck Parts Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF 16 28:28.5814
20 Kostecki Brothers Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 16 28:29.8326
DNF Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Richard Muscat Holden Commodore VF 14 23:39.2619
DNF Performance West Alex Rullo Holden Commodore VF 14 23:45.6195
DNF Team Caltex Renee Gracie Ford Falcon FG  9 13:00.6696
DNF Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2  8 11:12.9193
DNF Wynns Racing Josh Kean Holden Commodore VF  3  4:20.6760

Championship Standings

1 Garry Jacobson 279
2 Jack Le Brocq 249
3 James Golding 204
4 Shae Davies 198
5 Steve Owen 192
6 Andrew Jones 186
7 Taz Douglas 174
8 Jesse Dixon 168
9 Todd Hazelwood 159
10 Macauley Jones 153
11 Liam McAdam 150
12 Paul Dumbrell 150
13 Adam Marjoram 135
14 Anton de Pasquale 134
15 Matthew Chahda 120
16 Chelsea Angelo 111
17 Mathew Palmer 111
18 Adam Wallis 111
19 Richard Muscat 111
20 Dan Day  99
21 Kurt Kostecki  96
22 Renee Gracie  69
23 Jake Kostecki  51
24 Alex Rullo  48
25 Bryce Fullwood   0
26 Josh Kean -25

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]