McLaughlin holds out Red Bulls in Practice 2

Scott McLaughlin

Scott McLaughlin

Scott McLaughlin continued to set the pace as the soft tyres made their Clipsal 500 Adelaide debut in second practice.

McLaughlin took more than a second from his morning time, recorded on the hard tyres, to stop the clocks at 1:19.70s half an hour into the 40 minute session.

Initially 0.5s clear of the field, the Volvo proved able to fend off a succession of late challengers led by Red Bull’s Jamie Whincup and Shane van Gisbergen.

Whincup fell just 0.05s short of the top spot, with Van Gisbergen a further 0.07s adrift in third.

McLaughlin, who remains winless since November, 2014, heads into the afternoon’s qualifying sessions confident that his Volvo will be highly competitive on both tyres.

“I feel like last year we were lucky that our car was good on both compounds,” he said.

“That’s what it felt like again today. I had a few little moments on the soft tyre trying to find the limits, but all in all it was good fun.

“There’s always something a bit extra in myself. I’m losing out a bit in the third sector. The car itself is pretty good, but we’ll tune the driver up and we’ll be right.”

Mark Winterbottom showed promise for Prodrive in fourth after a low key opening practice for the four-car Ford squad.

Having run old rubber in Practice 1, Winterbottom and team-mate Chaz Mostert set the early hard tyre pace in the second session before the softs came out at the halfway mark.

“The car is getting better as the day goes on,” said Wintebottom.

“The soft tyre is really weird because at Turn 8, it’s normally 220km/h and the data tells you you can do 230km/h on the soft.

“You know it can happen but your head and your foot have a bit of an argument. I lost a bit of time there, but the soft tyres are really good to drive on.”

James Courtney and Rick Kelly continued their strong morning form in fifth and sixth respectively, while Jason Bright, Scott Pye, Tim Slade and Garth Tander completed the top 10.

Result: V8 Supercars Clipsal 500 Practice 2 

1 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:19.6977RS
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:19.7444rS 00.0467
3 Red Bull Racing Australia Shane Van Gisberge Holden Commodore VF 1:19.8215rS 00.1238
4 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:19.9068rS 00.2091
5 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:19.9183rS 00.2206
6 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:19.9660rS 00.2683
7 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:20.0908 S 00.3931
8 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.1175 S 00.4198
9 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:20.1603 S 00.4626
10 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:20.1704 S 00.4727
11 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:20.2530 S 00.5553
12 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:20.2583 S 00.5606
13 Team Vortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:20.3178 S 00.6201
14 Erebus Motorsport Penrite David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 1:20.3498 S 00.6521
15 Team Darrell Lea STIX Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 1:20.3554 S 00.6577
16 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Volvo S60 1:20.3957 S 00.6980
17 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:20.4153 S 00.7176
18 DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.4633 S 00.7656
19 Prodrive Racing Australia Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.4765 S 00.7788
20 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.5988 S 00.9011
21 LD Motorsports Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:20.6221 S 00.9244
22 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Nissan Altima 1:20.7299 S 01.0322
23 Superblack Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.8677 S 01.1700
24 LD Motorsports Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore VF 1:20.9795 S 01.2818
25 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:21.1338 S 01.4361
26 Plus Fitness Racing Aaren Russell Holden Commodore VF 1:21.5819 S 01.8842

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]