McLaughlin fastest in opening V8 practice

Scott McLaughlin

Scott McLaughlin

Volvo’s Scott McLaughlin edged the Holden Racing Team’s James Courtney to set the fastest time in the opening V8 Supercars session of the season at the Clipsal 500 Adelaide.

McLaughlin recorded a 1:20.79s best in the dying stages of the 40 minute run to eclipse the 2010 champion by 0.033s.

Craig Lowndes was just 0.0006s further back in third following a flurry of late times on new hard compound rubber.

Red Bull team-mates Jamie Whincup and Shane van Gisbergen led the way for much of the session while teams ran the best of their pre-marked hards.

Times began to tumble in the final 10 minutes, with Jason Bright the first to eclipse Whincup’s 1:21.38s benchmark.

McLaughlin was the first into the 1:20s soon after and, while Courtney moved to the top with just a minute to go, the Volvo driver proved able to respond with a final lap of his own.

Van Gisbergen’s last lap netted fourth in the order, while Whincup was just 15th after a kerb strike infringement during his final run.

Rick Kelly gave Nissan hope for the new season with fifth ahead of DJR Team Penske pair Scott Pye and Fabian Coulthard, while Tim Slade, Michael Caruso and Garth Tander completed the top 10.

A second 40 minute practice session will take place from 1320 local time ahead of two qualifying sessions later in the afternoon.

Result: V8 Supercars Clipsal 500 Adelaide Practice 1

1 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:20.7880
2 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:20.8211 00.0331
3 Team Vortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:20.8217 00.0337
4 Red Bull Racing Australia Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:20.8315 00.0435
5 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:20.8904 00.1024
6 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.9551 00.1671
7 DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 1:21.0236 00.2356
8 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:21.0707 00.2827
9 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:21.0961 00.3081
10 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:21.1085 00.3205
11 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:21.1291 00.3411
12 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:21.1639 00.3759
13 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:21.2975 00.5095
14 Erebus Motorsport Penrite David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 1:21.3028 00.5148
15 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:21.3830 00.5950
16 LD Motorsports Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:21.4830 00.6950
17 LD Motorsports Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore VF 1:21.6723 00.8843
18 Team Darrell Lea STIX Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 1:21.7473 00.9593
19 Prodrive Racing Australia Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:21.7499 00.9619
20 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:22.0293 01.2413
21 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Volvo S60 1:22.0498 01.2618
22 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:22.0624 01.2744
23 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:22.2574 01.4694
24 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Nissan Altima 1:22.4747 01.6867
25 Superblack Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG/X 1:23.1505 02.3625
26 Plus Fitness Racing Aaren Russell Holden Commodore VF 1:23.8114 03.0234

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]