Bookies braced for Whincup, SVG showdown

Van Gisbergen and Whincup pose in Adelaide

Van Gisbergen and Whincup pose in Adelaide

New Red Bull recruit Shane van Gisbergen has been given equal favourite status with six-time champion team-mate Jamie Whincup by bookmakers ahead of the Clipsal 500 Adelaide.

The Kiwi’s move to Red Bull sees him in identical¬†equipment to¬†Whincup for the first time following three seasons at Triple Eight satellite squad Tekno Autosports.

V8 Supercars’ official betting agency Ubet has both Van Gisbergen and Whincup at $4.00 favourites to win the season’s opening race, which will take place over 125km on Saturday.

It follows Van Gisbergen’s victory in a head-to-head battle with Whincup at last year’s season ending Sydney 500.

Both drivers are former Clipsal 500 winners, with Whincup’s last Adelaide victory coming in the opening heat last year.

Reigning champion Mark Winterbottom, who is yet to win a single race at the Clipsal 500, is third in the betting order to win Race 1 at $6.00 ahead of returning team-mate Chaz Mostert ($10.00).

Craig Lowndes ($10.00) completes a Triple Eight and Prodrive sweep of the top five places in the order.

Volvo’s Scott McLaughlin, who is winless in over 12 months, the Holden Racing Team’s James Courtney and new DJR Team Penske signing Fabian Coulthard are best of the rest at $12.00 each.

Whincup has meanwhile been ranked as the favourite to take the title on $2.75 over Van Gisbergen ($3.75), Winterbottom ($5.50), Mostert ($8.00) and Lowndes ($10.00).

Clipsal 500 Race 1 odds courtesy of Ubet

Jamie Whincup 4.00
Shane van Gisbergen 4.00
Mark Winterbottom 6.00
Chaz Mostert 10.00
Craig Lowndes 10.00
Scott McLaughlin 12.00
James Courtney 12.00
Fabian Coulthard 12.00
Will Davison 15.00
Garth Tander 26.00
Scott Pye 26.00
Cameron Waters 41.00
Tim Slade 51.00
James Moffat 51.00
David Reynolds 61.00
Jason Bright 61.00
Rick Kelly 81.00
Lee Holdsworth 81.00
Michael Caruso 151.00
Chris Pither 251.00
Nick Percat 251.00
Todd Kelly 251.00
Andre Heimgartner 501.00
Dale Wood 501.00
Aaren Russell 501.00
Tim Blanchard 501.00

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]