New look V8 Utes attracts 17 car Clipsal field

V8 Utes will be represented by a 17 car field at the Clipsal 500 opener

V8 Utes will be represented by a 17 car field at the Clipsal 500 opener

V8 Supercars has confirmed a 17 car field for the V8 Utes Racing Series opener at the Clipsal 500 this weekend following the category’s change of management.

The popular series has undergone a troubled off-season which has seen its parent company Australian V8 Ute Racing Pty Ltd, wound up and its category management agreement handed back to CAMS.

As a result, V8 Supercars has stepped in to manage the category ensuring the series participates in its scheduled slot at the Clipsal 500 showpiece.

A field of 17 has been assembled featuring 10 Fords and seven Holdens which is significantly lower compared to the 28 entries at last year’s first round.

While the entry is one of the lowest the category has experienced in recent times, it features many of the series’ mainstays including defending champion Ryal Harris.

Harris will continue with Matt Stone Racing, who will also field an entry for Toowoomba racer Steve Wilson.

Last year’s championship runner-up Kris Walton returns in a RGS Racing Ford along with multiple race winner David Sieders in a Sieders Racing Team Holden.

Ryan Hansford, Nathan Pretty, Kim Jane and Craig Dontas are among the regulars returning to the category.

The entry list also features Queenslander Mason Barbera, who will make his first appearance since serving a ban for dangerous driving issued in November last year.

V8 Utes will enjoy two 20 minute practice sessions, a 20 minute qualifying session followed by three, nine lap races over the Clipsal 500 weekend.

The series’ future direction remains unclear at this stage.

The category had planned to introduce a new evolution Ute to replace the current Ford and Holden models from 2017 onwards before the change of management.

V8 Supercars has also confirmed that the V8 Utes Racing Series’ eight round calendar will be unchanged with visits to Symmons Plains, Phillip Island, Winton, Townsville, Bathurst, Gold Coast and the Coates Hire Sydney 500 finale locked in.

The category will also receive the same television package as last year with all rounds televised live on Fox Sports, alongside coverage on Network 10 for those meetings shown live on the free-to-air channel.

V8 Utes Racing Series Clipsal 500 Entry List

Number Sponsor Entry Driver Model
1 Ride with Matt Stone Racing Ryal Harris Ford
2 Australian Conveyor Noel Edge Noel Edge Ford
3 Sieders Racing Team Sieders Racing Team David Sieders Holden
5 Fleurieu Milk Company Troy Dontas Troy Dontas Holden
6 Multispares Racing Rodney Dawson Ryan Hansford Ford
17 IOR Rodney Dawson Mason Barbera Ford
19 Brightearth Elictrical / AMS George Gutierrez George Gutierrez Ford
23 Bestjet Racing Luke Spalding Luke Spalding Holden
24 Right 2 Drive Nandi Kiss Nandi Kiss Holden
27 Bob Jane T-Marts / Altenzo / Sharkbite William K Jane Kim Jane Ford
33 WIL-TOW Matt Stone Racing Steve Wilson Ford
44 Ward Demolition Rodney Dawson Peter Ward Ford
45 CRC Racing Clifton Campbell Craig Dontas Holden
56 Burbank Racing David Murphy Nathan Pretty Holden
67 JMG Maintenance & Fabrication Jeremy Gray Jeremy Gray Ford
68 RGS Racing Rodney Dawson Kris Walton Ford
85 Bartech Switchboards Layton Barker Layton Barker Holden

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]