Dungey, Davalos claim respective AMA wins

Ryan Dungey

Ryan Dungey

Ryan Dungey and Martin Davalos have each collected thrilling victories in round eight of the AMA Supercross Championship at the Atlanta Georgia Dome.

In arguably the most controversial race of the 2016 season, Red Bull KTM rookie Marvin Musquin collected the holeshot and led 19 of 20 laps with Dungey right in tow.

As the final lap began, Musquin came up to lap Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart, however despite the blue flags, Stewart failed to pull over and let the leaders by.

As a result, Musquin nearly collided with Stewart as he attempted to force a pass, coming within inches of being landed on by second placed Dungey.

Musquin went off the track and handed Dungey not only the lead, but the race win.

Musquin finished in second place.

Australia’s Chad Reed returned to form in Atlanta, posting a very solid third place following an uncharacteristic 12th at the previous round.

A pair of BTO Sports KTM’s rounded out the top five, with Davi Millsaps in fourth and Justin Brayton in fifth.

Last week’s winner Ken Roczen endured a horrible start to the main event that would see the German round the first lap outside the top 15.

Roczen put in an incredible charge, however could only rebound to sixth at the conclusion of the main event.

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Jason Anderson finished seventh after a couple falls, trailed by Geico Honda’s Justin Bogle as he captured a season best eighth place.

Anderson’s teammate Christophe Pourcel continues to build momentum in ninth with HRC Honda’s Cole Seely in 10th after contact with Anderson mid-race.

It was a welcome return to racing for the 250 East Coast riders in Atlanta, with some fantastic battles and questions answered in the process.

In his 11th season in the 250 class, Martin Davalos collected an emotional third career victory in his 71st start.

Davalos took a wire-to-wire victory and will now sport the championship leader’s red-plate in Daytona.

Geico Honda’s Malcolm Stewart claimed second place, and despite Davalos’ win, Stewart looks like the man to beat for the title.

Star Racing Yamaha’s Aaron Plessinger picked up his second career podium in third place as he begins his sophomore year in the class.

Plessinger’s team-mate Jeremy Martin finished a solid fourth with Troy Lee Designs/Go Pro KTM’s Justin Hill in fifth.

RJ Hampshire finished sixth after a long battle with both Darryn Durham in seventh and Tyler Bowers in eighth.

Alexander Frye and Jimmy Albertson rounded out the top ten.

Dungey now stretches his lead in the championship with 191 points, trailed by Roczen with 158 and Jason Anderson with 145.

The 250 East championship is led by Davalos with 25, followed by Malcolm Stewart with 22 and Aaron Plessinger with 20.

The series moves to round nine at the notoriously difficult Daytona round where riders compete on a Ricky Carmichael-designed course on the infield of the famed speedway.


Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]