Australian GT reveals Clipsal 500 entry list

The Australian GT Championship is set for bumper grid at Clipsal

The Australian GT Championship is set for bumper grid at Clipsal

Australian GT has released its 28 car entry list for the opening round of the sprint season at next month’s Clipsal 500.

The championship will welcome seven manufacturers and a host of established drivers for three 40 minute races on the Adelaide streets from March 3-6.

The entry list is boosted by the earlier than previously anticipated debut of Steven Richards Motorsport with its factory supported BMW M6 GT3.

Four-time Bathurst 1000 winner Richards will share the entry with Max Twigg.

As previously reported, Tekno Autosports will field three McLaren 650S GT3s with Grant Denyer joining team owner Jonathon Webb behind the wheel in the #59 entry.

Experienced GT driver Nathan Morcom will drive the #60, while Nathan Antunes and Elliot Barbour share the #61 car.

Maranello Motorsport remains on the entry list despite Denyer’s departure with Tony D’Alberto listed as the pilot of the Ferrari 458.

The event will also see the competitive debut of the new Mercedes AMG GT3 in Australia with entries from Mark Griffith, Scott Taylor Motorsport and Eggleston Motorsport.

The entry list also confirms that reigning Australian GT champion Christopher Mies will be joined by Geoff Emery in the new Jamec-Pem Racing Audi R8.

Another new addition to the grid this year is Australian F3 champion Ricky Capo, who will drive a BMW Z4 GT3.

Walkinshaw Racing’s new Porsche GT3-R is not expected to make an appearance until the third round at Perth from May 6-8.

CAMS Australian GT Championship – Round 1 Clipsal 500 Entry List

# Team Driver(s) Car Class
1 JAMEC PEM Racing Christopher Mies / Geoff Emery Audi R8 LMS CMP
2 JAMEC PEM Racing Steve McLaughlan Audi R8 LMS CMP
4 Superbarn Supermarkets James Koundouris Audi R8 LMS CMP
5 Adina Apartments Hotels Greg Taylor / Barton Mawer Audi R8 LMS CMP
6 Skwirk Online Education Rod Salmon Audi R8 Ultra CMP
9 Team ASR Ash Samadi Mercedes SLS AMG GT3 CMP
11 Objective Racing Tony Walls McLaren 650S GT3 CMP
14 Taplin Real Estate Andrew Taplin / Dean Canto Lamborghini R-EX CMP
15 Veloce Motorsport – ULX110 Keith Wong Porsche GT3 Cup MY11 INV
19 Hogs Breath Cafe / Griffith Corporation Mark Griffith Mercedes AMG GT3 CMP
23 JBS Australia Roger Lago Lamborghini R-EX CMP
33 HBS Motorsports Simon Ellingham / TBA Audi R8 Ulta CMP
37 Darrel Lea Klark Quinn / Tony Quinn McLaren 650S GT3 CMP
38 Eggleston Motorsport TBA / TBA Mercedes AMG GT3 CMP
43 Koala Motorsport Brenton Griguol / Tim Macrow Ferrari F430 GT3 2014 INV
46 M Motorsport John Magro / Hayden Cooper Lamborghini Gallardo FLII CMP
48 Interlloy M Motorsport Justin McMillan / Glen Wood Lamborghini R-EX CMP
51 AMAC Racing Andrew Macpherson Porsche 997 GT3-R CMP
59 McLaren Melbourne Jonathan Webb / Grant Denyer McLaren 650S GT3 CMP
60 TEKNO Autosports Nathan Morcom McLaren 650S GT3 CMP
61 TEKNO Autosports Nathan Antunes / Elliot Barbour McLaren 650S GT3 CMP
62 Performance West Alex Rullo / Peter Rullo Lamborghini Gallardo FLII CMP
63 Eggleston Motorsport Peter Hackett / Dominic Storey Mercedes AMG GT3 CMP
88 Maranello Motorsport Tony’ D’Alberto / TBA Ferrari 458 GT3 CMP
92 Modena Engineering Ricky Capo BMW Z4 GT3 CMP
93 Waltec Motorsport John Martin / Aaron Tebb Porsche 997 GT3-R CMP
100 BMW Team SRM Steve Richards / Max Twigg BMW M6 GT3 CMP
222 Scott Taylor Motorsport Scott Taylor / Craig Baird Mercedes AMG  GT3 CMP

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]