Speedcafe.com awarded at Night of Champions

CAMS CEO Eugene Arocca with Speedcafe.com's Stefan Bartholomaeus. pic: Dan Thompson

CAMS CEO Eugene Arocca with Speedcafe.com’s Stefan Bartholomaeus. pic: Dan Thompson

Speedcafe.com editor Stefan Bartholomaeus has taken out two awards at the Confederation of Australian Motor Sport’s annual Night of Champions.

Held at Crown Casino in Melbourne, the gala dinner saw last year’s CAMS title holders officially presented with their trophies.

Among the media awards, Bartholomaeus received the Journalist of the Year and Story of the Year (print/online) honours.

The latter award, for revealing last July that V8 Supercars was set to buy the Bathurst 12 Hour, follows Speedcafe.com editor-in-chief Gordon Lomas’ Story of the Year gong from 2014.

It also adds to five peer-voted V8 Media Association awards for Bartholomaeus over the last two years, including Journalist of the Year on both occasions.

Last night’s top individual honour, the Peter Brock medal, went to 27-year-old Molly Taylor, who finished runner-up in the 2015 Australian Rally Championship to Eli Evans.

Molly Taylor was awarded the Peter Brock Medal

Molly Taylor was awarded the Peter Brock Medal. pic: Dan Thompson

Introduced in 2011, the award is designed to recognise a driver that shows characteristics associated with the late Peter Brock, including driving ability, sportsmanship and efforts to promote the sport.

“I’m incredibly overwhelmed to have been selected,” said Taylor.

“I think I read the letter that CAMS sent me about 10 times before I believed that it wasn’t a mistake.

“I remember meeting Peter when I was very, very young at a rally and I still remember very well how friendly he was and how much time he gave to these little girls who thought he was god.

“Peter was so good at translating the passion and energy he had for the sport and inspired so many people with it.”

Others recognised included long-time CAMS foundation supporters Tom Warwick and Geoff Morgan, who received the CAMS Membership of Honour.

Nineteen-year-old Joey Mawson was meanwhile named CAMS Young Driver of the Year ahead of a planned return to Germany for a second attempt at the nation’s Formula 4 championship.

See below for the full list of award winners

CAMS Awards

Phil Irving Award: David Mawer

Donald Thomson Award: Simon Bulasch

Australian Official of The Year: Peter Castledine

Life Membership: Ross Tapper

Life Membership: Steve Ashton

Life Membership: Adrian Stafford

Membership of Honour: Tom Warwick

Membership of Honour: Geoff Morgan

Award of Merit Winner: Bob Glindemann

CAMS Young Driver of The Year: Joey Mawson

Peter Brock Medallist: Molly Taylor

FIA Awards

FIA Best Marshal of The Season: Belinda Taylor

FIA World Endurance Champion: Mark Webber

Media Awards

Media Service Award Winner: Max Stahl

Media Service Award Winner: Mike Raymond

Media Service Award Winner: Bill Tuckey

Motor Sport Journalist of The Year & Story of The Year: Stefan Bartholomaeus

Motor Sport Photograph of The Year: John Morris

Motor Sport Photographer of The Year: Bruce Thomas

Motor Sport Story of The Year (Television): Greg Rust

2015 National Series and National Class Champions

Off Road

AORC Pro Buggy Class Champion: Shannon Rentsch & Ian Rentsch

AORC Extreme 4WD Class Champion: Luke Ayres & Josh Attard

AORC Super 1650 Buggy Class Champion: Chris Browning & Chris Clarke

AORC Extreme 2WD Class Champion: Steven Sanderson & Braeden O’Cass

AORC Prolite Buggy Class Champion: Matthew Martin & Kerri Martin

AORC Production 4WD Class Champion: Jason Galea


Superkart 125cc Gearbox National Champion: Mark Robin

• Superkart 250cc Gearbox National Champion: Jordan Ford

Aussie Racing Cars Series Champion: Brendon Pingel

Australian Saloon Car Series Champion: Gavin Ross

Australian Sports Car Racer Series Champion: Mark Laucke

Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Champion: Ryan Simpson

Australian Touring Car Masters (ProAM) Champion: Cameron Tilley

Australian Touring Car Masters Series ProSports Class Champion: Leo Tobin

Australian Touring Car Masters Series ProMaster Class Champion: John Bowe

Australian V8 Touring Car Series Champion: Liam McAdam

Radical Australia Cup Champion: Peter Paddon


Australian Side by Side Rally Champion: Cody Crocker & Greg Foletta

4WD Rally Series Champion: Marcus Walkem & Scott Walkem

Australian Rally Championship 1600 Cup Champion: Rhys Pinter

CAMS National Championships

Australian Motorkhana Championship: Scott Bennett

Porsche Carrera Cup Champion: Nick Foster

Australian Formula 4 Champion: Jordan Lloyd

Australian Off-Road Champion: Shannon Rentsch

Australian Rally Champions: Eli Evans & Glen Weston

Australian Touring Car Champion: Mark Winterbottom

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]