Haryanto snares second Manor F1 seat

Rio Haryanto will step up from GP2 to Formula 1 with the Manor F1 outfit

Rio Haryanto will step up from GP2 to Formula 1 with the Manor F1 outfit

Rio Haryanto will graduate to Formula 1 this season having secured the second seat at Manor Racing.

The former GP2 driver from Indonesia will join the British outfit alongside Mercedes young gun Pascal Wehrlein who was confirmed at the squad last week.

Backed by the Indonesian government, Haryanto enjoyed a breakthrough year in GP2 last season which saw him score three race wins for Campos Racing.

The first Indonesian driver to compete in F1 is understood to have fought off competition from the team’s 2015 pilots Will Stevens and Alexander Rossi to claim the drive.

The 23-year-old will join up with the squad for next week’s Barcelona pre-season test prior to his F1 race debut at next month’s Australian Grand Prix.

“Manor Racing is a team with an exciting vision and ambitious plans,” said Haryanto.

“They have produced a great package and I can’t wait to get in the car. Melbourne will be a huge moment for me, my country, supporters and fans and I want to thank everyone who’s been with me since I started in single seaters; 2016 is my chance to reward that faith and represent Asia in F1.”

Manor owner Stephen Fitzpatrick says Haryanto’s impressive performances in GP2 last year have warranted the promotion to F1.

“We are delighted to announce Rio as our second race driver for 2016. Rio’s been racing since he first got into a kart at six years old,” said Fitzpatrick.

“He’s tenacious on and off the track and made a big impression on last year’s GP2 battle. Rio’s huge following in Indonesia is great for the team and for F1.

“They are keen to see him on the grid and we’re confident that we’ll see him enjoying some exciting battles in the year ahead.”

Formula 1 2016 driver line-up

Nico Rosberg
Lewis Hamilton

Sebastian Vettel
Kimi Raikkonen

Red Bull
Daniel Ricciardo
Daniil Kvyat

Valtteri Bottas
Felipe Massa

Fernando Alonso
Jenson Button

Force India-Mercedes
Nico Hulkenberg
Sergio Perez

Toro Rosso-Ferrari
Max Verstappen
Carlos Sainz

Kevin Magnussen
Jolyon Palmer

Marcus Ericsson
Felipe Nasr

Pascal Wehrlein
Rio Haryanto

Haas F1
Romain Grosjean
Esteban Gutierrez

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]