Roczen snares maiden AMA win for 2016

thumbKen Roczen collected his first Monster Energy Supercross win for 2016 during round five in Glendale, Arizona.

Roczen’s RCH Suzuki blazed out of the gate to grab a top three start before the German was soon leading.

The 21-year-old posted 20 consistent laps en route to his first victory since round four in 2015.

Defending champion Ryan Dungey experienced his first poor start of the season, only to claw his way through the field and land an impressive second place.

After giving a brief chase toRoczen early in the main, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac appeared to have settled for second place before Dungey mounted a late race charge and made a pass.

Tomac would collect his first podium for the season in third place.

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Jason Anderson posted another solid result in fourth, whist KTM’s Davi Millsaps finished a seasons best fifth.

After looking noticeably uncomfortable with the track, Australia’s Chad Reed put in a great performance to fend off hard charges from Justin Brayton, Cole Seely and Marvin Musquin to finish sixth place respectively.

Brayton finished seventh followed closely by Seely in eighth, with Musquin and Wil Hahn rounding out the top ten.

In the 250 class, Christian Craig completed his revolutionary come-back to the sport by capturing the first main event win of his career.

Having retired from the sport in 2014, the Geico Honda rider now has one win to his name and has catapulted his way up the series standings in the process.

Following a poor start, Cooper Webb found himself on the rear wheel of race leader Craig with five laps remaining.

Webb would try to make an aggressive pass that saw the defending champion go down, and subsequently settle for second place on the night.

Series points leader Joey Savatgy placed a quiet third, with TLD/GoPro KTM’s Mitchell Oldenburg in fourth and Rock River Yamaha’s Colt Nichols in fifth.

Chris Alldredge and Alex Martin both desperately needed solid results, and with sixth and seventh placing’s, the factory riders can sleep easier at night.

Kyle Cunningham continues his impressive run of form with eighth, followed by Jimmy Decotis and Kyle Peters in ninth and tenth.

Dungey continues to lead the 450 class with 119 points, followed by Roczen with 98 and Jason Anderson a further five markers back with 93.

In the 250 class, Webb and Savatgy are now tied for points on 98, followed by Craig with 87.

The series now heads back to San Diego for the second and final time for 2016.


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]