Stoner impresses as Lorenzo tops final day

Casey Stoner was the quickest Ducati rider on the final day of the Sepang test

Casey Stoner was the quickest Ducati rider on the final day of the Sepang test

Casey Stoner emerged as the top Ducati rider while Jorge Lorenzo set a blistering pace to top the times in the final day of the MotoGP Sepang pre-season test.

The Australian, making his first official MotoGP appearance since retiring from the sport in 2012, improved upon his showing on Tuesday by clocking the fifth fastest time.

Stoner, who joined Ducati as a development rider in the off-season, was 1.4s shy of pacesetter Lorenzo aboard the 2015 specification Ducati.

The former two-time world champion was 0.153s faster than factory Ducati team-mate Andrea Iannone in eighth, with the sister bike of Andrea Dovizioso in 13th position.

Reigning world champion Lorenzo ended the session with a series of fast laps before producing a session best 1:59.580s.

The effort proved to be 0.9s quicker than his nearest rival and Yamaha team-mate Valentino Rossi, with Honda’s Marc Marquez 1.3s adrift in third.

LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow maintained his strong run in the test by claiming fourth spot.

Honda’s Dani Pedrosa was sixth with Tuesday’s pacesetter Danilo Petrucci in seventh.

Pramac Ducati’s Scott Redding and Suzuki’s Maverick Vinales rounded out the top 10.

MotoGP teams will head to Australia’s Phillip Island for a second three day pre-season test which begins on February 17.

Result: MotoGP Sepang Test Day 3

Position Rider Team Time/Gap Laps
1 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 1:59.580s 36
2 Valentino Rossi Yamaha +0.976s 38
3 Marc Marquez Honda +1.303s 45
4 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda +1.412s 42
5 Casey Stoner Ducati +1.490s 30
6 Dani Pedrosa Honda +1.581s 48
7 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Racing Ducati +1.637s 18
8 Andrea Iannone Ducati +1.643s 38
9 Scott Redding Pramac Racing Ducati +1.649s 42
10 Maverick Vinales Suzuki +1.664s 51
11 Hector Barbera Avintia Racing Ducati +1.854s 30
12 Aleix Espargaro Suzuki +2.043s 44
13 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati +2.095s 34
14 Yonny Hernandez Aspar Ducati +2.194s 40
15 Pol Espargaro Tech 3 Yamaha +2.290s 44
16 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Yamaha +2.338s 65
17 Loris Baz Avintia Racing Ducati +2.961s 33
18 Stefan Bradl Aprilia Gresini +3.212s 44
19 Katsuyuki Nakasuga Yamaha +3.360s 27
20 Esteve Rabat Marc VDS Honda +3.432s 57
21 Alvaro Bautista Aprilia Gresini +3.603s 46
22 Eugene Laverty Aspar Ducati +3.939s 25

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]