POLL: Who will win the Bathurst 12 Hour?

Monday 1st February, 2016 - 5:48pm


Can Nissan successfully defend its 2015 Bathurst 12 Hour title

Can Nissan successfully defend its 2015 Bathurst 12 Hour title?

Teams have started to file into Bathurst for this weekend’s Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour.

This week’s Pirtek Poll enables you to cast a vote on which team will take out honours in this year’s edition of the country’s burgeoning international endurance classic

Furnished by 24 Class A GT3 entries, the 40-car field sees the return of the Nismo Nissan GT-R with the squad crewed by personnel from Nismo Japan, British team RJN and the Kelly-run Australian V8 Supercars team.

After missing last year, Rick Kelly returns to the team at the expense of Wolfgang Reip who helped Katsumasa Chiyo and late stand-in Florian Strauss snare a last gasp victory.

Among the other highly fancied runners is the Phoenix Audi R8 entry that will see Gold Coast-based Alex Davison link with European stars Laurens Vanthoor and Markus Winkelhock.

The two-pronged M-Sport-run Bentley Continental GT3 attack returns with similar line-ups with Brisbane driver David Russell joining the English fold in the #31 machine alongside Andy Soucek and Maxime Soulet.

Narrowly missing a podium, the Bentley boys are headed by the combination of former Le Mans 24 Hour winner Guy Smith, Steven Kane and Matt Bell, who combine in the #10.

A fleet of McLaren’s with some of the most powerful driver line-ups in the race are also highly fancied along with the twin Erebus Mercedes SLS AMG GT3 entries that boost four AMG factory pilots headed by the brilliant Bernd Schneider.

An 11th hour FIA seeding amendment that ensured full-time V8 Supercars drivers are rated as Gold ultimately meant that Scott Pye has been replaced by Grant Denyer in the Maranello Ferrari, slotting in alongside Toni Vilander, Mika Salo and Tony D’Alberto.

CLICK HERE for the full entry list including driver combinations.

Who will win the Bathurst 12 Hour? Cast your vote in the Pirtek Poll below.

Pirtek Poll comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!