Denyer replaces Pye in Maranello Ferrari

D'Alberto and Denyer celebrate a race victory in last year's AGTC

D’Alberto and Denyer celebrate a race victory in last year’s AGTC

Grant Denyer will replace Scott Pye in Maranello Motorsport’s Bathurst 12 Hour line-up, the team has confirmed.

DJR Team Penske V8 Supercars star Pye was ruled out of the race a fortnight ago after the FIA elected to upgrade his seeding from Silver to Gold.

Denyer finished second in the Australian GT Championship last year and, as predicted, has been drafted in as a late replacement.

The television personality has four previous Bathurst 12 Hour starts to his name, including a run in Peter Conroy’s Class B Porsche last year.

Denyer joins his AGTC co-driver Tony D’Alberto and international Ferrari stars Mika Salo and Toni Vilander in Maranello’s revised Bathurst squad.

“Grant had an outstanding season last year and is more than ready and capable to step into the seat and maintain our extremely strong squad of four fantastic drivers,” said team owner Mark Coffey.

“His development last year was brilliant and, as we saw last year, he and Tony work very well together.

“They are both looking forward to working with Toni and Mika and working together through the build-up to the race so we’re in the best position on Sunday afternoon.

“This is going to be one of the most competitive races ever seen at Mount Panorama and we feel confident that the McDonald’s Maranello Motorsport Ferrari will be amongst the many contenders.”

Maranello won the 12 Hour in 2014 with Salo, Craig Lowndes, John Bowe and Peter Edwards, but failed to start last year after a heavy crash in Friday practice.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]