POLL: V8 Supercars next new race winner

Monday 18th January, 2016 - 6:29pm


Jack Perkins celebrates victory alongside James Courtney last season

Jack Perkins celebrates victory alongside James Courtney last season

Who will be the next driver to add their name to the list of V8 Supercars Championship race winners?

The new year sees a raft of hopefuls aiming to become the 73rd driver in history to win an Australian Touring Car Championship/V8 Supercars Championship race.

Leading the charge of full-time drivers looking for a breakthrough is Tim Slade, who is famously yet to win in seven V8 Supercars seasons.

Slade is stepping into the Brad Jones Racing Holden that has won championship races on five occasions in the hands of Fabian Coulthard over the last three years.

Scott Pye will also be eyeing a first win at the emerging DJR Team Penske, with which he scored a maiden podium last November at Pukekohe.

Pye endured a rough initiation into V8 Superars with Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport in 2013, but has gradually built his stocks across two seasons at the Queensland-based Ford team.

Cameron Waters (Prodrive), Chris Pither (Super Black Racing) and Aaren Russell (Erebus Motorsport) are all preparing for their first full seasons, with varying expectations placed upon them.

Experienced campaigners Dale Wood and Tim Blanchard have meanwhile moved camps in the bid to find improved results this year, slotting in at Nissan and Brad Jones Racing respectively.

Endurance co-driver Jack Perkins was the only first time winner last season, exactly two years after the previous new winner arrived in the form of David Reynolds.

Reynolds had been one of five to take maiden wins in 2013 alongside Fabian Coulthard, Scott McLaughlin, Chaz Mostert and James Moffat.

Who do you think will become the next new V8 Supercars Championship race winner? Vote now in this week’s Pirtek Poll. comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!