Motorcycle stars set for Troy Bayliss Classic

Wednesday 23rd December, 2015 - 11:21am


A bumper field is set for the 2016 Troy Bayliss Classic

A bumper field is set for the 2016 Troy Bayliss Classic

A host of international and national motorcycle stars have been confirmed to contest the annual Troy Bayliss Classic.

The fourth running of the event at the Taree Motorcycle Club will see riders from Australia, Great Britain, America, Japan and Sweden compete for the coveted title on January 16.

Among the star studded field are four-time long track World Champion Joonas Kylmakorpi, British Supermoto Champion Chris Hodgson and Japanese Flat-Track Champion Masotoshi Ohmori.

America’s top five AMA Pro Flat Track racers Brad Baker, Sammy Halbert, Jared Mees, Henry Wiles and Jake Johnson will complete the international line up.

Mees will return to the event as the reigning champion after seeing off a world class field to win the 2015 crown.

The international stars will come up against a strong Australian line up which includes three-time world superbike champion Bayliss, Suzuka 8 Hours podium finisher Josh Hook and superbike stars Broc Parkes and Damian Cudlin.

The 2016 edition of the Troy Bayliss Classic will be run on a completely resurfaced track which should provide the field with a new challenge.

“This event continues to grow and improve year-on-year and the 2016 event is shaping to be the biggest one yet,” said event organiser Bayliss.

“International interest in the Troy Bayliss Classic is gaining momentum, evident by the fact we have eight incredible racers from four countries, coming to take on a stellar line-up of some of Australia’s best motorcycle racers.

“The track has undergone a complete resurface courtesy of Taree Council and it will not be ridden on until the event, which means no one rider will have an advantage when the gates drop on January 16.

“For me personally, I am looking forward to catching up with the fans and racing in front of a great line-up of our future motorcycle racing champions (juniors),” Bayliss continued.

Troy Bayliss Classic 2016 rider line up

Motul Pirelli Troy Bayliss Classic  – Allstars

Brad Baker (USA)
Sammy Halbert (USA)
Jared Mees (USA)
Jake Johnson (USA)
Henry Wiles (USA)
Chris Hodgson (UK)
Masatoshi Ohmori (JAP)
Troy Herfoss (AUS)
Troy Bayliss (AUS)
Paul Caslick (AUS)
Matt Davies (AUS)
Chris Hollis (AUS)
Josh Hook (AUS)
Michael Kirkness (AUS)
Marty McNamara (AUS)
Jared Oram (AUS)
Broc Parkes (AUS)
Luke Richards (AUS)
Anthony West (AUS)
Damian Cudlin (AUS)
Alex Cudlin (AUS)
Robbie Menzies (AUS)
Jared Brook (AUS)

Motul Pirelli Troy Bayliss Classic – Legends

Joonas Kylmakorpi (SWE)
Damon Buckmaster  (AUS)
Jason Crump (AUS)
Shawn Giles (AUS)
Anthony Gunter (AUS)
Kevin Horten (AUS)
Phil Lovett (AUS)
Vaughan Style (AUS)
Chris Watson (AUS)
Stephen Gall (AUS) comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!