Lowndes secures his fifth Barry Sheene Medal

Gordon Lomas

Monday 7th December, 2015 - 10:05pm


Craig Lowndes has claimed a fifth Barry Sheene Medal at the 2015 V8 Supercars Gala awards

Craig Lowndes has claimed a fifth Barry Sheene Medal at the 2015 V8 Supercars Gala awards

Triple Eight veteran Craig Lowndes has extended his stunning haul by winning the Barry Sheene Medal for a fifth time.

Voted the best and fairest driver, Lowndes scored a sixth victory in the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 in a season which saw him spear to a milestone 100th race win in Darwin.

The 41-year-old, who finished second in the championship, was also named the Fan’s Choice Most Popular Driver.

Lowndes’ Red Bull Racing Australia, claimed the Castrol Edge Champion Team trophy for a sixth consecutive year as the team again helped Holden to the Champion Manufacturer title.

Prodrive Racing Australia’s Mark Winterbottom received the Champion’s Trophy after securing his first V8 Supercars Championship at the Coates Hire Sydney 500 grand finale.

Extrovert team owner Garry Rogers is the latest identity to be inducted into the V8 Supercars Hall of Fame.

At 70 years of age, Rogers is the 19th member added to the list of prominent figures who have played a huge role in the history of the sport in Australia.

After a challenging season which saw Ash Walsh replaced in his Erebus seat for the last two events of the season, the Queenslander landed the coveted Mike Kable Young Gun Award, named in honour of the late doyen of Australian motor racing journalism.

Charlie Schwerkolt Racing driver Lee Holdsworth claimed the Driver’s Driver award.

James Warburton used the gala night in Sydney to announce the sport was the third highest attended in Australia and is continuing to improve its commercial standing.

2015 V8 Supercars Gala Awards winners

2015 V8 Supercars Champion – Mark Winterbottom, Prodrive Racing Australia
Castrol Edge Champion Team of the Year – Red Bull Racing Australia
Champion Manufacturer of the Year – Holden
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 Champions – Craig Lowndes and Steven Richards
Dunlop Series Champion – Cameron Waters, Prodrive Racing Australia
Barry Sheene Medal – Craig Lowndes, Red Bull Racing Australia
Mike Kable ‘Young Gun’ Award – Ashley Walsh
ARMOR ALL Pole Position Award – Chaz Mostert, Prodrive Racing Australia
Dunlop Series ARMOR ALL Pole Position Award – Cameron Waters, Prodrive Racing Australia
Fans Choice Award Best Presented Team – Holden Racing Team
Fans Choice Award Most Popular Driver – Craig Lowndes, Red Bull Racing Australia
Fans Choice Award Best Event – Castrol Gold Coast 600
Best Volunteer Group – ITM 500 Auckland
Privateer’s Cup – Jack Le Brocq
V8 Supercars Media Award – James Phelps, News Limited
V8 Supercars Hall of Fame Inductee – Garry Rogers
Driver’s Driver – Lee Holdsworth comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!