Waters seals Dunlop Series crown in Sydney

Daniel Herrero

Sunday 6th December, 2015 - 3:21pm


Cameron Waters took out the Dunlop Series title with a second place finish in the final race

Cameron Waters took out the Dunlop Series title with a second place finish in the final race

Cameron Waters has won the 2015 Dunlop Series title after finishing second to Paul Dumbrell in the final race of the season.

Dumbrell led all but a portion of the opening lap at Sydney Olympic Park, but was always set to hand over the #1 plate to Waters as the Prodrive Racing Australia driver tailed him all the way.

“It’s awesome. Thanks to all the boys at Prodrive and my mum and dad I couldn’t have done it without them,” said Waters.

“It’s great for Prodrive to win the main championship and the Dunlop Series.

“It has been an awesome year.”

It was actually Waters who got the jump as the lights went out, Dumbrell slotted into second as pole-sitter Jack Le Brocq started slowly and dropped to fourth, behind Andrew Jones.

Josh Kean and Matt Chahda combined to bring about the Safety Car on Lap 3 when the latter collided with the former at Turn 2.

Kean pitted with rear-end damage having backed into the wall while Chahda parked on the circuit.

The race restarted on Lap 7, when Le Brocq slipped by Jones at Turn 1 but rubbed the wall on exit and had to defend on the run to the chicane.

A lap later, Todd Hazelwood attempted to pass Garry Jacobson into the train station complex but was tagged on the way through and slid into the wall. He took another hit from Jacobson as Jonathon Webb inherited fifth.

While Dumbrell opened up a 1.6s lead, the top five compressed in the latter stages.

Webb set the fastest lap on Lap 11 but could not find a way past Jones, despite a minor coming-together on the final lap.

Dumbrell ultimately crossed the finish line 0.6s clear in the time-certain 16-lapper (down from a scheduled 17), but second was enough for Waters to give Prodrive both V8 Supercars Drivers’ Championships in 2015.

Le Brocq’s third place helped him to third in the series, while Hazelwood recovered to sixth after both Aaren Russell and Shae Davies cut the Turn 2/3/4 complex on Lap 11.

Russell, Macauley Jones, James Golding, and Bryce Fullwood made up the rest of the top ten, while Jacobson could manage only 15th spot after going into the wall on Lap 10.

The Dunlop Series starts again in 2016 at the Clipsal 500 from March 3-6.

Result: Dunlop Series Race 2

1 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 16 27:08.4774
2 TEAM ENZED PRA Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG 16 27:09.0565
3 Ice Break Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG 16 27:09.4407
4 Alliance Truck Parts Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 16 27:11.7724
5 Hayman Reese Racing Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 16 27:12.3329
6 iseek Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG 16 27:18.7046
7 Plus Fitness / Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 16 27:23.7077
8 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VE2 16 27:25.1441
9 Gippsland Body Building GRM James Golding Holden Commodore VE2 16 27:25.9637
10 Middy’s Data & Electrical Bryce Fullwood Ford Falcon FG 16 27:26.9201
11 Davbridge Constructions Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG 16 27:30.6856
12 Super Black Racing Simon Evans Ford Falcon FG 16 27:31.1914
13 Eggleston Motorsport Liam McAdam Holden Commodore VE2 16 27:35.5075
14 Fujitsu Racing Renee Gracie Ford Falcon FG 16 27:37.8515
15 Eggleston Motorsport Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore VE2 16 27:57.7660
16 Street Fighter Performance Upg Dan Day Ford Falcon FG 16 27:59.2194
17 Battery World Racing Aaron McGill Holden Commodore VE2 16 28:16.4099
DNF Alphabet/Wynns Josh Kean Holden Commodore VE2  5 12:06.0194
DNF Cavalier Homes/EMA Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG  2  3:12.7765

Championship Standings

1 Cameron Waters 1966
2 Paul Dumbrell 1889
3 Jack Le Brocq 1587
4 Todd Hazelwood 1404
5 Chris Pither 1337
6 Garry Jacobson 1287
7 Andrew Jones 1274
8 Shae Davies 1070
9 Simon Evans  961
10 James Golding  938
11 Aaren Russell  935
12 Macauley Jones  911
13 Ant Pedersen  855
14 Paul Morris  795
15 Dan Day  741
16 Jesse Dixon  650
17 Bryce Fullwood  647
18 Renee Gracie  634
19 Josh Kean  576
20 Aaron McGill  508
21 Taz Douglas  496
22 Matthew Chahda  448
23 Brett Hobson  325
24 Kurt Kostecki  290
25 Adam Wallis  228
26 Liam McAdam  211
27 Matt Hansen  196
28 Jason Leoncini  194
29 Phil Woodbury  188
30 Jonathon Webb  180
31 Grant Denyer  132
32 Michael Caine  108
33 Chelsea Angelo   90
34 Drew Russell   90
35 Jamie Sharp   72
36 Geoff Emery   51 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!