Bathurst to begin 2016 Intercontinental GT Series

Wednesday 25th November, 2015 - 1:00pm


Bathurst 12 Hour will kick off the new 2016 Intercontinental GT Challenge Series

Bathurst 12 Hour will kick off the new 2016 Intercontinental GT Challenge Series

SRO Motorsport has confirmed the Bathurst 12 Hour will kick off the new Intercontinental GT Challenge series next year.

Global GT boss Stephane Ratel presented the new series at the launch of the Sepang 12 Hours (December 11-13), which included the unveiling of the Intercontinental GT Challenge Series logo.

February’s Bathurst 12 Hour will open the series which includes the Spa 24 Hours, Circuit of the Americas, and the Sepang 12 Hours.

The Intercontinental GT Challenge Series, run to SRO’s Balance of Performance regulations, is designed for GT manufacturers to nominate local teams in the region as representatives at the events.

Intercontinental GT Challenge logo

The Intercontinental GT Challenge Series logo

“The Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour is one of the most prestigious motorsport events in the world and we are excited to be joining other iconic events in the Intercontinental GT Challenge,” said event director John Casey.

“The Challenge will bring significant international exposure to the race at one of the world’s most famous circuits.

“The race will also feature some of the leading drivers from Australia and around the world and is an event motorsport fans won’t want to miss.”

Meanwhile, next month’s Sepang 12 Hours has confirmed its entry list which is headlined by entries from Phoenix Audi and the factory M-Sport Bentley operation.

Phoenix Audi will run two R8s with Markus Winkelhock, Nicki Thiim and Niki Mayr-Melnhof piloting the lead car, while Alex Yoong, Marchy Lee and Shaun Thong will drive an all Asian entry.

Bentley will enter two Continental GT3s with Guy Smith, Steven Kane and new signing Vincent Abril in the #9, The second entry will see Andy Soucek, Maxi Buhk and Maxime Soulet compete.

The event will feature Australian team AMAC Motorsport, who will field a Porsche 997 GT3R for Warren Luff, James Winslow and Andrew MacPherson.

The Australian contingent is completed by Josh Hunt, who will drive a Nexus Racing Ferrari 458, Formula Masters China Series driver Aidan Read and Asian GT specialist Daniel Bilski. comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!