Lloyd wins inaugural CAMS F4 Championship

Daniel Herrero

Sunday 22nd November, 2015 - 3:30pm


Jordan Lloyd

Jordan Lloyd

Jordan Lloyd has won the inaugural CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship with a round to spare after sweeping the three races at Phillip Island.

The Team BRM driver shared the front row with nearest rival Thomas Randle for the final race and led out of the first corner, checking out to an 8.4s victory over the 14 laps.

The Race 3 win marks Lloyd’s 12th of the season, having failed to win a race at only one of the six rounds thus far.

“We’re pretty damn happy with that, to be the first champions in Formula 4 in this country,” exclaimed Lloyd.

“I couldn’t fault BRM there the entire season. We managed to have the outright pace here and just managed to dominate so it’s outstanding the way we went.”

Zane Goddard finished the race in second position after bravely passing Randle on the uphill run to Lukey Heights on Lap 12.

He did, however, have to withstand the late advances of Luis Leeds, who came from deep on the grid to finish third, ahead of Randle and Harry Hayek.

Tom Grech was the only non-finisher after an off at Southern Loop while attacking Randle for second.

Randle has already secured second place in the championship while a group of four headed by Luis Leeds remain in contention for third when the championship concludes at Sydney Olympic Park from December 4-6. comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!