GALLERY: Porsche’s journey to WEC glory

Sunday 22nd November, 2015 - 8:01am


Porsche has swept all before it by taking the manufacturers’ and driver’s World Endurance Championship titles.

A nail-biting finish to the season saw Mark Webber, Brendon Hartley and Timo Bernhard take the WEC by five points from the arch rival #7 Audi machine.

For Webber it was just reward for a career which had previously been devoid of a championship.

It was also in stark contrast to the way the 2014 season finished for Webber who was hospitalised after a huge shunt at Interlagos.

The Porsche squad landed six of the eight WEC rounds, swept pole position in each race and claimed a 17th victory in the Le Mans 24 Hour race in June by the third #19 entry driven by Kiwi Earl Bamber, Nico Hulkenberg and Nick Tandy.

Bahrain saw the breakthrough win for Porsche’s #18 machine for Romain Dumas, Marc Lieb and Neel Jani in 2015 after the previous four races were won by the #17 car. comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!