Courtney tops morning Phillip Island practice

Sunday 22nd November, 2015 - 11:40am


James Courtney

James Courtney

James Courtney set the pace in the Sunday morning practice session of the WD-40 Phillip Island Super Sprint.

The Holden Racing Team driver surged to the top of the time sheets in the final two minutes of the 15 minute hit out held in overcast conditions at the Victorian circuit.

Courtney’s 1:31.0s effort proved to be 0.1s quicker than DJR Team Penske’s Scott Pye with the Bottle-O Racing’s David Reynolds in third.

“Today is about not worrying over the position of our car, it is about trying to get a better direction and better feel,” said Courtney.

“Over the weekend I think we have learned some stuff. We don’t get paid for this morning so we have got to go and do it all again.”

Title contender Craig Lowndes had topped the times earlier in the session before ending up in fourth while Scott McLaughlin was fifth in front of championship leader Mark Winterbottom.

“It feels like we have made gains but with gains come losses so we have got to marry the two and try and go forward,” said Winterbottom.

“I feel good people are trying to make mew feel different to what I am but my head is in a good space. I know what is on the line and what we have got to do to win it (the championship).”

The second Pepsi Max Ford of Cam Waters was seventh as Todd Kelly (Nissan), Rick Kelly (Nissan) and Jamie Whincup completed the top 10.

Result: V8 Supercars WD-40 Phillip Island Super Sprint Practice 4

1 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:31.0107*H
2 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 1:31.1458 H 00.1351
3 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X 1:31.1784 H 00.1677
4 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:31.2298 H 00.2191
5 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:31.2860 H 00.2753
6 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:31.3187 H 00.3080
7 Pepsi Max Crew Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:31.3332 H 00.3225
8 Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:31.7041 H 00.6934
9 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:31.7987 H 00.7880
10 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:31.8343 H 00.8236
11 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:31.9741 H 00.9634
12 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 1:32.0393 H 01.0286
13 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:32.0533 H 01.0426
14 Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Nissan Altima 1:32.0782 H 01.0675
15 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:32.1325 H 01.1218
16 Erebus Motorsport V8 Dean Canto Mercedes E63 AMG 1:32.1334 H 01.1227
17 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:32.2050 H 01.1943
18 Super Black Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG/X 1:32.2133 H 01.2026
19 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:32.4110 H 01.4003
20 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:32.5090 H 01.4983
21 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:32.6089 H 01.5982
22 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:32.6513 H 01.6406
23 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 1:32.7742 H 01.7635
24 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 1:32.9310 H 01.9203
25 Repair Management Aust Racing Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 1:32.9474 H 01.9367 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!