David Reynolds stars in dry Island practice

Tom Howard

Saturday 21st November, 2015 - 11:47am


David Reynolds

David Reynolds

David Reynolds emerged fastest in the third practice session at the WD-40 Phillip Island Super Sprint.

The Prodrive driver shot to the top of the timing screens in the dying seconds of the 15 minute hit out held in dry conditions at the Victorian circuit.

After Friday practice was plagued by wet weather the session provided teams with valuable dry track time prior to quaifying.

Reynolds’ session best 1:30.86s proved to be 0.0371s quicker than Red Bull’s Jamie Whincup who held sway as the session entered its final minutes.

Volvo’s Scott McLaughlin was third fastest ahead of championship leader Mark Winterbottom who set the initial pace.

Friday’s pacesetter Scott Pye was fifth in the DJR Team Penske Ford Falcon while Fabian Coulthard, James Courtney, Garth Tander and Shane van Gisbergen filled sixth through to ninth.

Title contender Craig Lowndes rounded out the top 10 in the sister Red Bull Commodore.

The session saw Paul Dumbrell drafted in to replace Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport’s Nick Percat who was forced to sit out the session due to his foot injury.

Dumbrell was black flagged during the session after failing to sign the entry forms in time for the start of Practice 3, such was the rush for him to deputise for Percat in the #22 LDM entry.

A quick visit to the pits saw him sign the papers while in the car before rejoining the session, where he finished in 24th spot.

Result: V8 Supercars WD-40 Phillip Island Super Sprint Practice 3 

1 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X 1:30.8661*H
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:30.9032 H 00.0371
3 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:30.9264 H 00.0603
4 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:30.9900 H 00.1239
5 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 1:31.1530 H 00.2869
6 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:31.1833 H 00.3172
7 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:31.3409 H 00.4748
8 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:31.3553 H 00.4892
9 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:31.3928 H 00.5267
10 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:31.4320 H 00.5659
11 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:31.4702 H 00.6041
12 Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Nissan Altima 1:31.4824 H 00.6163
13 Pepsi Max Crew Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:31.6150 H 00.7489
14 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:31.7260 H 00.8599
15 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:31.7442 H 00.8781
16 Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:31.7763 H 00.9102
17 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:31.7910 H 00.9249
18 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:31.9616 H 01.0955
19 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 1:32.1772 H 01.3111
20 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:32.2346 H 01.3685
21 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 1:32.3853 H 01.5192
22 Erebus Motorsport V8 Dean Canto Mercedes E63 AMG 1:32.5243 H 01.6582
23 Super Black Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG/X 1:33.0015 H 02.1354
24 Repair Management Aust Racing Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 1:33.1699 H 02.3038
25 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 1:33.3597 H 02.4936 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!