Winterbottom tops rain hit second practice

Friday 20th November, 2015 - 3:45pm


Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom

V8 Supercars championship leader Mark Winterbottom emerged with the fastest time from a rain hit second practice session at Phillip Island.

While the track had almost dried by the end of the day’s earlier session, further showers saw the second 60 minutes of running begin with the field on wets.

Winterbottom was one of several to move to slicks before more rain arrived just prior to the halfway mark.

With the track too damp for slicks but not fully wet, the majority of the field elected to pit and wait on the next weather development.

Winterbottom was one of several to spear off as the conditions worsened, escaping the gravel after a spin at Turn 2.

Ongoing rain ensured the Pepsi Max Ford’s earlier 1:35.9s best would prove unbeatable over the final half hour.

The early running also locked in the remainder of the top 10, with Practice 1 pace-setter Scott Pye second, 0.14s adrift of Winterbottom.

Jason Bright, David Reynolds and Craig Lowndes completed the top five, with the Red Bull Holden driver having survived a series of wild offs as he pushed the limits in the tricky conditions.

The conditions ensured that Scott Pye’s Practice 1 time of 1:32.06s remained the fastest of the day.

Result: V8 Supercars WD-40 Phillip Island Super Sprint Practice 2 

1 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:35.9504*H
2 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 1:36.0863 H 00.1359
3 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:36.2471 W 00.2967
4 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X 1:36.6485 H 00.6981
5 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:36.6538 H 00.7034
6 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:37.0981 H 01.1477
7 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:37.1291 H 01.1787
8 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 1:37.5197 H 01.5693
9 Pepsi Max Crew Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:37.6765 H 01.7261
10 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:37.7466 H 01.7962
11 Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:38.0426 H 02.0922
12 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 1:38.1871 H 02.2367
13 Super Black Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG/X 1:38.3896 W 02.4392
14 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:39.7236 H 03.7732
15 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:39.8988 W 03.9484
16 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:40.1573 W 04.2069
17 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:40.4043 H 04.4539
18 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 1:40.6110 W 04.6606
19 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:41.1385 W 05.1881
20 Erebus Motorsport V8 Dean Canto Mercedes E63 AMG 1:41.2192 W 05.2688
21 Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:41.2226 W 05.2722
22 Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Nissan Altima 1:41.8362 W 05.8858
23 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:42.1528 W 06.2024
24 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:44.0770 W 08.1266
25 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:44.6809 W 08.7305 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!