Record breaking Lorenzo claims Valencia pole

Sunday 8th November, 2015 - 1:14am


Jorge Lorenzo

Jorge Lorenzo

Jorge Lorenzo boosted his hopes of securing a third MotoGP crown by claiming pole position for the title deciding Valencia finale.

The Yamaha rider set a blistering pace posting a new circuit lap record to take arguably the most important pole position of his career.

Lorenzo’s stunning 1:30.011s effort proved to be 0.4s quicker than his nearest rival Marc Marquez, with the sister Honda of Dani Pedrosa in third.

The pole has swung the title race in Lorenzo’s favour with rival Valentino Rossi forced to start from the rear of the grid, virtue of his penalty for the Sepang clash with Marquez.

“I think it is the most important pole (of my career) and I think it was the best lap of my life,” said Lorenzo.

“I’m very happy with the pole position and the grid for tomorrow so we will see if Sunday is more or less the same as today.”

Marquez had set the pace from the outset but he had no answer to Lorenzo’s incredible pace as the title contender eclipsed the outgoing world champion with five minutes remaining.

Hamstrung by a grid penalty, Rossi, who holds seven point lead over Lorenzo, struggled for pace before ending the session in the gravel trap after losing control of his Yamaha at Turn 8.

Suzuki’s Aleix Espargaro was fourth fastest ahead of LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow and Bradley Smith on the Tech 3 Yamaha.

Andrea Iannone was the best of the Ducati riders in seventh, while Pol Espargaro, Andrea Dovizioso and Danilo Petrucci completed the top 10.

Courtesy of Rossi’s penalty, Australia’s Jack Miller will start from 20th on the grid with fellow countrymen Anthony West in 22nd and Broc Parkes in 25th position.

Result: MotoGP Grand Prix of Valencia Qualifying 

Position Rider Bike Time Gap
1 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 1:30.011s
2 Marc Márquez Honda 1:30.499s +0.488s
3 Daniel Pedrosa Honda 1:30.516s +0.505s
4 Aleix Espargaró Suzuki 1:30.917s +0.906s
5 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda 1:30.948s +0.937s
6 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Yamaha 1:31.012s +1.001s
7 Andrea Iannone Ducati 1:31.056s +1.045s
8 Pol Espargaró Tech 3 Yamaha 1:31.080s +1.069s
9 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 1:31.245s +1.234s
10 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Ducati 1:31.292s +1.281s
11 Maverick Viñales Suzuki 1:31.340s +1.329s
12 Michele Pirro Ducati 1:31.780s +1.769s Q1
13 Stefan Bradl Gresini Aprilia 1:31.824s +1.813s Q1
14 Héctor Barberá Avintia Ducati 1:31.851s +1.840s Q1
15 Loris Baz Forward Yamaha 1:31.856s +1.845s Q1
16 Nicky Hayden Aspar Honda 1:32.083s +2.072s Q1
17 Yonny Hernández Pramac Ducati 1:32.142s +2.131s Q1
18 Álvaro Bautista Gresini Aprilia 1:32.282s +2.271s Q1
19 Scott Redding Marc VDS Honda 1:32.448s +2.437s Q1
20 Jack Miller LCR Honda 1:32.564s +2.553s Q1
21 Mike Di Meglio Avintia Ducati 1:32.716s +2.705s Q1
22 Anthony West AB Honda 1:33.049s +3.038s Q1
23 Eugene Laverty Aspar Honda 1:33.066s +3.055s Q1
24 Toni Elías Forward Yamaha 1:33.092s +3.081s Q1
25 Broc Parkes ART/Aprilia 1:33.577s +3.566s Q1
26 Valentino Rossi Yamaha 1:31.471s +1.460s Penalty comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!