Reynolds wins after disaster strikes Lowndes

Saturday 7th November, 2015 - 3:40pm


David Reynolds celebrates victory

David Reynolds celebrates victory

David Reynolds inherited a win and second place in the V8 Supercars Championship after a spectacular tyre failure for Craig Lowndes in Race 29.

Lowndes swept around the outside of pole-sitter Reynolds to take the lead into Turn 1 and held a near one second advantage halfway through the 21 lap sprint.

The left-rear tyre on the Red Bull Holden then let go in spectacular fashion at the end of the front straight on lap 12.

The failure sent Lowndes spinning down the road at more than 200km/h before the Red Bull Holden made sizeable left-side contact with the concrete wall.

Lowndes emerged from the car unscathed, but his title hopes have taken a major blow as leader Mark Winterbottom banked solid points in fourth.

The incident occurred in the first V8 Supercars race at Pukekohe to feature the soft tyre, which teams had completed just a single qualifying run on prior to the start.

“I was coming down the main straight and then all of a suddenly it just exploded,” recounted Lowndes.

“I tried to get the nose back to bring it down the road but I couldn’t and we ended up being drawn towards the armco and the wall.

“I’m fine but I am a bit annoyed because I am trying to break the hoodoo of this place,” he added, having yet to win at the Auckland venue.

Reynolds still had to earn his victory after the Safety Car for Lowndes’ crash, fending off a determined Jamie Whincup in the closing stages.

Whincup had a lunge into the hairpin on the penultimate lap, drawing alongside Reynolds before proving unable to make the move stick.

Scott McLaughlin held up the Kiwi honour in third, finishing on the bumper of Whincup.

Shane van Gisbergen charged from 13th to fifth ahead of James Courtney, Tim Slade, Scott Pye, Fabian Coulthard and Garth Tander.

Nick Percat finished 20th after an early drive-through penalty for failing to concede a place to Michael Caruso following instruction from race control.

Percat had been deemed to gain an advantage when he was bumped wide at Turn 1 on the opening lap.

There were just 24 starters after engine failure for Jason Bright in the opening heat left him on the sidelines.

Result: V8 Supercars ITM 500 Auckland Race 29

1 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X 21 26:37.9563
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 21 26:38.4594
3 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 21 26:38.8269
4 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 21 26:39.5227
5 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 21 26:39.8694
6 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 21 26:40.3910
7 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 21 26:41.7068
8 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 21 26:42.6002
9 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 21 26:43.5753
10 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 21 26:44.1939
11 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 21 26:45.6179
12 Pepsi Max Crew Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 21 26:45.8465
13 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 21 26:46.3207
14 Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Nissan Altima 21 26:47.1216
15 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 21 26:47.7026
16 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 21 26:48.6053
17 Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 21 26:49.4324
18 Super Black Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG/X 21 26:50.0533
19 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 21 26:52.9372
20 Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 21 26:53.1337
21 Erebus Motorsport V8 Ashley Walsh Mercedes E63 AMG 21 26:53.2643
22 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 21 26:53.6336
23 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 21 26:54.4381
DNF Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 11 11:44.5966

Championship Standings 

1 Mark Winterbottom 2707
2 David Reynolds 2420
3 Craig Lowndes 2401
4 Garth Tander 2219
5 Shane van Gisbergen 2185
6 Fabian Coulthard 2156
7 Chaz Mostert 2017
8 Jamie Whincup 1936
9 James Courtney 1730
10 Rick Kelly 1704
11 Scott McLaughlin 1684
12 Tim Slade 1534
13 Michael Caruso 1522
14 Lee Holdsworth 1396
15 Jason Bright 1392
16 Will Davison 1369
17 James Moffat 1331
18 Todd Kelly 1297
19 Nick Percat 1204
20 Scott Pye 1159
21 Dale Wood 1091
22 Andre Heimgartner 1026
23 Tim Blanchard 1006
24 David Wall 875
25 Warren Luff 747
26 Ash Walsh 736
27 Jonathon Webb 699
28 Jack Perkins 693
29 Steve Owen 684
30 Steven Richards 681
31 Dean Canto 648
32 Luke Youlden 516
33 David Russell 492
34 Alex Premat 492
35 Tony D’Alberto 462
36 Cameron Waters 439
37 Sebastien Bourdais 423
38 Taz Douglas 416
39 Russell Ingall 414
40 Dean Fiore 399
41 Marcos Ambrose 395
42 Andrew Jones 345
43 Macauley Jones 327
44 Alex Davison 327
45 Paul Dumbrell 326
46 Karl Reindler 288
47 Alex Buncombe 276
48 Oliver Gavin 258
49 Ant Pedersen 185
50 Jack Le Brocq 144
51 Chris Pither 141
52 Aaren Russell 108
53 Drew Russell 108
54 Simona de Silvestro 84
55 Renee Gracie 84 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!