Rosberg powers to Mexican GP pole

Nico Rosberg

Nico Rosberg

Nico Rosberg edged newly crowned world champion Lewis Hamilton to pole position for the Mexican Grand Prix.

The Mercedes driver claimed his fourth consecutive pole with an impressive display throughout qualifying at the Hermanos Rodriguez circuit.

Rosberg set the pace in Q3 on his first run before lowering his time to a 1:19.480s, which proved to be 0.188s quicker than Hamilton.

Hamilton briefly moved to the top of the times midway through the final segment of qualifying before he was eclipsed by Rosberg.

Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel emerged as the best of the rest in third just 0.3s adrift of the pole-sitter.

Red Bull converted its strong practice speed into qualifying with Daniil Kvyat and Daniel Ricciardo coming through to secure fourth and fifth respectively.

The Williams pair of Valtteri Bottas and Felipe Massa occupied sixth and seventh ahead of the Toro Rosso of Max Verstappen.

Sergio Perez pleased his home crowd with a solid performance to claim ninth while his Force India team-mate Nico Hulkenberg completed the top 10.

Carlos Sainz narrowly missed out on Q3 in 11th with the Toro Rosso driver joined by the Lotus’ of Romain Grosjean and Pastor Maldonado, and the Sauber of Marcus Ericsson.

Meanwhile, Kimi Raikkonen suffered a brake issue in Q2 that saw his Ferrari come to a halt on the circuit.

The Finn carried a five place grid penalty into the session following a gearbox change after final practice, which will see him start the race from 18th position.

After showing encouraging pace in practice, McLaren struggled in qualifying with Fernando Alonso the first of the runners to fail to progress to Q2.

The Spaniard will however start from 19th after incurring a 15 place grid penalty for an engine and gearbox change.

To make matters worse his team-mate Jenson Button was forced to sit out qualifying due to an engine problem.

The Brit will start from the back of the grid after a third power unit change of the weekend.

Sauber’s Felipe Nasr and the Manors of Alexander Rossi and Will Stevens were eliminated in Q1.

Result: Formula 1 Mexican Grand Prix Qualifying

Position Driver Team Time Gap
1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:19.480s
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:19.668s +0.188s
3 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:19.850s +0.370s
4 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull/Renault 1:20.398s +0.918s
5 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 1:20.399s +0.919s
6 Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes 1:20.448s +0.968s
7 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 1:20.567s +1.087s
8 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso/Renault 1:20.710s +1.230s
9 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 1:20.716s +1.236s
10 Nico Hulkenberg Force India/Mercedes 1:20.788s +1.308s
11 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Renault 1:20.942s +1.462s Q2
12 Romain Grosjean Lotus/Mercedes 1:21.038s +1.558s Q2
13 Pastor Maldonado Lotus/Mercedes 1:21.261s +1.781s Q2
14 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 1:21.544s +2.064s Q2
15 Felipe Nasr Sauber/Ferrari 1:21.788s +2.308s Q1
16 Alexander Rossi Marussia/Ferrari 1:24.136s +4.656s Q1
17 Will Stevens Marussia/Ferrari 1:24.386s +4.906s Q1
18 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:22.494s +3.014s Q2 Gearbox Penalty
19 Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda 1m21.779s +2.299s Q1 Engine Penalties
20 Jenson Button McLaren/Honda Engine Penalties

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]