Rosberg tops interrupted Mexican GP practice

Saturday 31st October, 2015 - 9:52am


Nico Rosberg

Nico Rosberg

Nico Rosberg emerged quickest in an eventful Friday practice as Formula 1 made its return to Mexico.

The Mercedes driver posted a 1:21.531s effort on a soft tyre run in the afternoon session at the Hermanos Rodriguez circuit to sit atop of the times.

Rosberg ended the session marginally quicker than the Red Bulls of Daniil Kvyat and Daniel Ricciardo who showed encouraging pace at the newly configured venue.

Kvyat was just 0.2s adrift of Rosberg while Ricciardo was tenth further back in third.

The duo were both quicker than newly crowned world champion Lewis Hamilton, who was fourth, as he struggled to find clear air to challenge his Mercedes team-mate.

Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen completed the top six.

The newly laid track surface proved a challenge for the drivers as they experienced a distinct lack of grip.

After topping opening practice, Max Verstappen’s day came to a premature end when he slid into the barriers at Turn 16 bringing out the red flags just five minutes into practice 2.

Incidents continued when the action resumed with Valtteri Bottas, Carlos Sainz, Pastor Maldonado and Sergio Perez all suffering spins at Turn 1.

Bottas was lucky to escape his moment with just a broken front wing on his Williams.

The session was interrupted for a second time when the Lotus of Romain Grosjean came to a halt on the circuit with a clutch issue.

Despite incurring damage after his moment at Turn 1, Bottas logged a time good enough for seventh ahead of Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button, who showed glimpses of pace in the McLarens.

Button spent half of afternoon session in the garage with a mechanical issue after undergoing his second power unit change of the weekend. The Brit will incur a 50 place grid penalty.

The Williams of Felipe Massa just edged Force India’s Nico Hulkenberg to round out the top 10, while local hero Perez ended up in 15th spot.

Result: Formula 1 Mexican Grand Prix Practice 2

Position Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:21.531s 36
2 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull/Renault 1:21.776s +0.245s 27
3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 1:21.868s +0.337s 28
4 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:21.961s +0.430s 33
5 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:21.984s +0.453s 32
6 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:22.399s +0.868s 33
7 Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes 1:22.721s +1.190s 28
8 Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda 1:22.993s +1.462s 36
9 Jenson Button McLaren/Honda 1:23.109s +1.578s 25
10 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 1:23.289s +1.758s 32
11 Nico Hulkenberg Force India/Mercedes 1:23.290s +1.759s 34
12 Pastor Maldonado Lotus/Mercedes 1:23.363s +1.832s 24
13 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Renault 1:23.364s +1.833s 41
14 Felipe Nasr Sauber/Ferrari 1:23.430s +1.899s 39
15 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 1:23.597s +2.066s 33
16 Romain Grosjean Lotus/Mercedes 1:23.614s +2.083s 26
17 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 1:24.533s +3.002s 34
18 Alexander Rossi Marussia/Ferrari 1:25.940s 4.409s 29
19 Will Stevens Marussia/Ferrari 1:26.968s +5.437s 28
Max Verstappen Toro Rosso/Renault 2

Result: Formula 1 Mexican Grand Prix Practice 1

Position Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso/Renault 1:25.990s 38
2 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull/Renault 1:26.295s +0.305s 27
3 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:26.295s +0.305s 36
4 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:26.886s +0.896s 31
5 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 1:27.185s +1.195s 28
6 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:27.196s +1.206s 19
7 Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes 1:27.303s +1.313s 26
8 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Renault 1:27.410s +1.420s 37
9 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 1:27.581s +1.591s 19
10 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 1:27.695s +1.705s 24
11 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:27.723s +1.733s 27
12 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 1:28.498s +2.508s 27
13 Pastor Maldonado Lotus/Mercedes 1:28.559s +2.569s 30
14 Felipe Nasr Sauber/Ferrari 1:28.579s +2.589s 25
15 Jolyon Palmer Lotus/Mercedes 1:28.711s +2.721s 24
16 Nico Hulkenberg Force India/Mercedes 1:29.099s +3.109s 17
17 Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda 1:30.072s +4.082s 17
18 Alexander Rossi Marussia/Ferrari 1:30.619s +4.629s 23
19 Jenson Button McLaren/Honda 1:32.091s +6.101s 9
20 Will Stevens Marussia/Ferrari 1:32.866s 6.876s 11 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!