Scene set for Pirtek Enduro Cup decider

Garth Tander and Warren Luff (right) lead Mark Winterbottom and Steve Owen in the Pirtek Enduro Cup decider

Garth Tander and Warren Luff (right) lead Mark Winterbottom and Steve Owen in the Pirtek Enduro Cup decider

Five driver combinations are in contention to claim the Pirtek Enduro Cup ahead of today’s final race at the Castrol Gold Coast 600.

Saturday’s eventful 300km race on the Surfers Paradise streets has seen the Holden Racing Team dup of Garth Tander and Warren Luff move to the top of the standings following their fourth place finish.

The HRT pair have opened up a six point lead over the Prodrive pair of Mark Winterbottom and Steve Owen, who were forced to witness their lead evaporate following a collision with Tander in the pits during Saturday’s race.

Tekno Autosports’ Shane van Gisbergen and Jonathon Webb have emerged genuine contenders after producing a faultless drive to victory in the opening leg of the Gold Coast 600.

With 150 points available in today’s Pirtek Enduro Cup decider, the duo, who have won twice on the Gold Coast streets, sit only 30 points adrift of leaders Tander and Luff.

Also in contention to claim the prize is the Bottle-O Racing’s pairing of David Reynolds and Dean Canto, who are 54 points back courtesy of a hard fought second place finish on Saturday.

Craig Lowndes and his partner Steve Richards are the final combination with a mathematical chance of securing the silverware.

Lowndes has tasted victory previously after winning the 2013 Pirtek Enduro Cup alongside Luff.

The newly crowned Bathurst 1000 winners will require some good fortune to overturn a 57 point deficit.

The final race of the 2015 Pirtek Enduro Cup is scheduled to begin at 2.30pm local time.

Pirtek Enduro Cup Standings

1 Garth Tander/Warren Luff 618
2 Mark Winterbottom/Steve Owen 612
3 Shane van Gisbergen/Jonathon Webb 588
4 David Reynolds/Dean Canto 564
5 Craig Lowndes/Steve Richards 561
6 Fabian Coulthard/Luke Youlden 450
7 James Courtney/Jack Perkins 423
8 Tim Slade/Tony D’Alberto 393
9 Scott McLaughlin/Alexandre Premat 390
10 Lee Holdsworth/Sebastien Bourdais 360
11 Rick Kelly/David Russell 354
12 James Moffat/Taz Douglas 336
13 Cameron Waters/ Russell Ingall 330
14 Michael Caruso/Dean Fiore 321
15 Jason Bright/Andrew Jones 309
16 Dale Wood/Macauley Jones 282
17 Will Davison/Alex Davison 270
18 Jamie Whincup/Paul Dumbrell 255
19 Tim Blanchard/Karl Reindler 249
20 Scott Pye/Marcos Ambrose 228
21 Todd Kelly/Alex Buncombe 222
22 Nick Percat/Oliver Gavin 198
23 Andre Heimgartner/Ant Pedersen 159
24 Ash Walsh/Jack Le Brocq 144
25 David Wall/Chris Pither 141
26 Aaren Russell/Drew Russell 108
27 Simona de Silvestro/Renee Gracie 84

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]